We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
158
10
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
10
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbilliard roomvenice suitebeautiful housechianti roommaternity hospitalnew zealandhospital hillbreakfast is servedsituated highking suiterestaurant bookingsbeautifully appointed roomssmall poolsuperb accommodationthree nightsfrench doorsstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Like others have said, you need confidence when arriving in Napier as to what you will find, but it's well worth it. This house is a period gem lovingly restored to its original condition having been a maternity hospital for many years! It's a bit tardis like - the inside seems way bigger than the outside, with a sumptuous library and billiards room to tempt you. Yvonne the owner is a delightful hostess, who is a fount of knowledge and can point you to all the right spots. Yes it is at the top of a steep hill, but there are short routes down to the art deco city centre and the restaurants in Ahuriri, and if you walk down taxis make it easy to get back up.

Breakfast was wonderful - all local ingredients and a huge helping that lasted us all day. The room was extremely comfortable, with the advantage of french windows opening direct onto a patio leading directly to the car parking area. All in all we thoroughly recommend McHardy Lodge, and take no notice of the negative comments - this is a beautiful house that deserves a visit

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuffer81A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for such a positive response - we do our very best to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us and that they get to see and do all that makes Napier great. Yes, we are on the top of Napier Hill in a quiet residential area which explains our wonderful views and the tranquility of the Lodge - but still within easy reach of the Art Deco town centre and vibrant Ahuriri. We are proud to be a heritage property which has been lovingly restored and we love to share the ambience with guests to the Lodge.We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The house was a bit difficult to find but it was in a beautiful location and we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay even though the weather was very poor when we were there. The hostess could not have been more friendly or helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the Art Deco tour and eating in Bistro omy which she recommended. We only wished we had planned a longer stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rrburns2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for posting such a lovely review - we also wish you had had longer to spend at McHardy Lodge as it was a delight to have you stay . Although we can do nothing about the weather, there are plenty of things to see and do in all weathers in Napier - perhaps you will have the opportunity in the future to return to Napier and experience the more normal warm and sunny weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the lovely McHardy Lodge after three attempts using a GPS and phone for directions. It is located at the top of a hill with many small streets and one ways.
The house has been beautifully restored and has a nice pool with a gorgeous view down to the sea. Breakfast is served at a communal table just off the kitchen. There is a buffet of continental selections followed by a cooked breakfast. The food is good.
The room we had was large and nicely decorated. We were there in hot weather and found it a bit warm with curtains drawn which we felt were necessary on the first floor.
Yvonne was helpful in booking activities.
Our biggest complaint was the location. Although it is nice when you are there, it is at least a half hour walk to town down a steep hill. At the bottom of the hill, until you reach downtown, the walk is not very pleasant. The traffic is heavy and the businesses are lots of car lots and fast food places. We never trusted that we would find our way back in the dark, so we used taxis. We did have a car so we could have driven, but chose not to.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BarbWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found most aspects of your stay pleasureable. We do provide all our guests at booking time with detailed instructions on how to get here, (avoiding the one and only one way street) and we are less than five minutes drive from the main highway from Wellington/Taupo and less than that from Napier Town Centre. The best walk into town is through the Botanical Gardens and then through historic Clive Square which is beautifully planted throughout the year and has an amazing carillon of bells playing throughout the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

My wife and I had planned a three week Kiwi adventure covering both north and south islands. We are not professional birders, but did wish to include a visit to the world famous gannet colony on our trip southward. Napier appeared to be a perfect intermediary stop in between our stays in Rotorua and Wellington. In working with our travel agent, we had originally planned to stay at Mon Logis, but nearly a year ahead they were already booked up (probably as unbeknownst to us, we would be visiting at the start of the annual Art Deco festival). Thus, we were advised that McHardy Lodge would be a good next choice. We agreed once we reviewed the TA ratings and comments…number 5 out of 42 Napier B&B’s did not sound too bad.

First of all, definitely use their website’s directions to get to the site. In fact, we depended upon our GPS and ended up ascending a veritable maze of some very narrow, winding streets…Yvonne, the owner, cleared up THAT matter by mapping out much better routes to get down to the city center or quay. The Lodge is located in a very nice quiet residential area at the top of Napier Hill, just past the historic cemetery and botanical garden..

The day before we arrived, we emailed Yvonne to let her know when to expect us (check in 2 pm earliest). We were given the grand tour of the house and provided with a brief historical perspective, and moved our luggage to the room. There are three parking slots at the front, two on the far right side, and easy street parking right in front of the B&B is also fine. The building is gorgeous, both inside and out, very historic. There are several very well decorated public areas including a library, billiard room, licensed bar. There is a small pool just below a deck looking out on Hawke’s Bay, comfortable chairs and tables. The hallways are adorned with interesting art, with a special hallway featuring posters from many years of prior Art Deco weekends.

We would have gladly paid the extra cost for a deluxe super king suite, but with none of those available, we ended up in the Chablis Room, a standard queen. The bedroom area was a bit cramped once we put our two bags on luggage racks at the foot of the bed, there being no other logistical place for them. There was a decent space between the door and two chairs next to it, and the bed. The bed was comfortable, the room warm due to unusually high local temperatures. Air entry to the room was limited to a transom window over double French doors which we could not leave open, as they faced the street. In fact, there was no manner by which to get ANY air into the room once we closed our curtains for privacy, as they were floor to ceiling curtains, but a floor fan kept us cool during the night. We were aware of the fact that New Zealand has been experiencing unusual heat as of late. The room was completely quiet during the night.

The bathroom features a shower with turbine power water, great temperature. Nice bathroom toiletries, towels which are assessed twice daily. The door to the bathroom is very tall, and humorously with a handle only two feet or so from the floor, no doubt a story to be told there. The bathroom floor was made of beautiful well varnished beautiful kauri wood, it does get slippery when wet. There is a mini-fridge in the room, which we really needed as we love ice, but with a freezer area which only afforded room to create twelve small cubes, we were a bit limited. The WiFi worked well throughout the house, good speed for basic needs, but don’t plan on doing any real time streaming.

Dining options were a bit limited due to the festival and its crowds, the first night we ate at Thirsty Whale, and the second night, Speight’s Ale House, both separately reviewed. In order to be safe post alcohol, at night, and noting the steep winding roads up to the lodge, we used taxis up and down, ten dollars a ride on average for very brief rides to either to the quay or city center.

Breakfasts were great, served in an area looking down on beautiful Hawke’s Bay. One has choices of three juices, dry cereals, and seven varieties of cooked to order breakfasts including eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, three types of toast. Of course, coffee and tea are standards.

Yvonne runs the place with remarkable professionalism and efficiency. She somehow seemed to be ever-present. She never failed us when it came to calling taxis (no Uber in Napier, evidently only in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch), and was always willing to offer help as needed, either with the room, dining reservations, or taking advantage of Napier’s offerings.

Aside from the room size and ventilation issues, we had a great stay at McHardy, and would gladly recommend a stay here to anyone whose travels bring them in this direction.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review of McHardy Lodge - it was a pleasure having you to stay and assisting you in making the most of your time in Napier.We were fortunate to have this opportunity as Mon Logis is now closed ( not full as you were led to believe) . Our Trip Advisor rating is a little misleading -the four properties with higher ratings are large hotels ( one with over 100 rooms) - totally different in character to our small six room boutique lodge so it always good to check the reviews with that in mind. We always do our best for our guests as we know how important good accommodation and helpful advice can be in making the most of a stay in a foreign country and town. We look forward to welcoming you back to McHardy Lodge at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This is a B&B based in a building from the Victorian era and is generally decorated in a style that fits with this. The big downside for us of this was no aircon and whilst I appreciate that it's been unusually hot lately, nearly every other place we have stayed in has aircon. We were in the Chablis room which I thought was OK in size but because of the way the sun moved around the building it was very hot and stuffy and impossible to get window ventilation because the only natural light to the room was through French doors which faced out to the front of the property so couldn't be left open at night.
Further the room was quite dark at times yet opening the curtains meant that you had no privacy at all. I generally don't like net curtains but feel they are needed in this room. I'd probably go for a different room if visiting again.
It is walkable down into town (about 30 mins) at a reasonable pace but only the fitter would want to walk back. Therefore you have to get in your car to go out for evening dinner or call a taxi.
Breakfast was ok.
The owner was very helpful sorting out restaurant bookings for us and made a lovely cup of tea on our arrival.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your appreciation of the completely unexpected heat we are experiencing in Napier over the past few weeks. Our position overlooking the Ocean from the top of Napier Hill normally provides sufficent natural ventilation through the 1.4 metre opening window and double french doors which lead onto to the verandah.. However after previous guest feedback and before your visit, we did install an additional room circulation fan in your room, making a total of two - neither of which you used during your stay. We do our very best to respond to concerns as our guests experience is very important ot us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews