We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
159
11
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
11
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billiard room beautiful house venice suite chianti room maternity hospital new zealand hospital hill perched high breakfast is served king suite restaurant bookings small pool stayed longer gannet colony superb accommodation three nights art deco tour
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

My wife and I had planned a three week Kiwi adventure covering both north and south islands. We are not professional birders, but did wish to include a visit to the world famous gannet colony on our trip southward. Napier appeared to be a perfect intermediary stop in between our stays in Rotorua and Wellington. In working with our travel agent, we had originally planned to stay at Mon Logis, but nearly a year ahead they were already booked up (probably as unbeknownst to us, we would be visiting at the start of the annual Art Deco festival). Thus, we were advised that McHardy Lodge would be a good next choice. We agreed once we reviewed the TA ratings and comments…number 5 out of 42 Napier B&B’s did not sound too bad.

First of all, definitely use their website’s directions to get to the site. In fact, we depended upon our GPS and ended up ascending a veritable maze of some very narrow, winding streets…Yvonne, the owner, cleared up THAT matter by mapping out much better routes to get down to the city center or quay. The Lodge is located in a very nice quiet residential area at the top of Napier Hill, just past the historic cemetery and botanical garden..

The day before we arrived, we emailed Yvonne to let her know when to expect us (check in 2 pm earliest). We were given the grand tour of the house and provided with a brief historical perspective, and moved our luggage to the room. There are three parking slots at the front, two on the far right side, and easy street parking right in front of the B&B is also fine. The building is gorgeous, both inside and out, very historic. There are several very well decorated public areas including a library, billiard room, licensed bar. There is a small pool just below a deck looking out on Hawke’s Bay, comfortable chairs and tables. The hallways are adorned with interesting art, with a special hallway featuring posters from many years of prior Art Deco weekends.

We would have gladly paid the extra cost for a deluxe super king suite, but with none of those available, we ended up in the Chablis Room, a standard queen. The bedroom area was a bit cramped once we put our two bags on luggage racks at the foot of the bed, there being no other logistical place for them. There was a decent space between the door and two chairs next to it, and the bed. The bed was comfortable, the room warm due to unusually high local temperatures. Air entry to the room was limited to a transom window over double French doors which we could not leave open, as they faced the street. In fact, there was no manner by which to get ANY air into the room once we closed our curtains for privacy, as they were floor to ceiling curtains, but a floor fan kept us cool during the night. We were aware of the fact that New Zealand has been experiencing unusual heat as of late. The room was completely quiet during the night.

The bathroom features a shower with turbine power water, great temperature. Nice bathroom toiletries, towels which are assessed twice daily. The door to the bathroom is very tall, and humorously with a handle only two feet or so from the floor, no doubt a story to be told there. The bathroom floor was made of beautiful well varnished beautiful kauri wood, it does get slippery when wet. There is a mini-fridge in the room, which we really needed as we love ice, but with a freezer area which only afforded room to create twelve small cubes, we were a bit limited. The WiFi worked well throughout the house, good speed for basic needs, but don’t plan on doing any real time streaming.

Dining options were a bit limited due to the festival and its crowds, the first night we ate at Thirsty Whale, and the second night, Speight’s Ale House, both separately reviewed. In order to be safe post alcohol, at night, and noting the steep winding roads up to the lodge, we used taxis up and down, ten dollars a ride on average for very brief rides to either to the quay or city center.

Breakfasts were great, served in an area looking down on beautiful Hawke’s Bay. One has choices of three juices, dry cereals, and seven varieties of cooked to order breakfasts including eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, three types of toast. Of course, coffee and tea are standards.

Yvonne runs the place with remarkable professionalism and efficiency. She somehow seemed to be ever-present. She never failed us when it came to calling taxis (no Uber in Napier, evidently only in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch), and was always willing to offer help as needed, either with the room, dining reservations, or taking advantage of Napier’s offerings.

Aside from the room size and ventilation issues, we had a great stay at McHardy, and would gladly recommend a stay here to anyone whose travels bring them in this direction.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review of McHardy Lodge - it was a pleasure having you to stay and assisting you in making the most of your time in Napier.We were fortunate to have this opportunity as Mon Logis is now closed ( not full as you were led to believe) . Our Trip Advisor rating is a little misleading -the four properties with higher ratings are large hotels ( one with over 100 rooms) - totally different in character to our small six room boutique lodge so it always good to check the reviews with that in mind. We always do our best for our guests as we know how important good accommodation and helpful advice can be in making the most of a stay in a foreign country and town. We look forward to welcoming you back to McHardy Lodge at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This is a B&B based in a building from the Victorian era and is generally decorated in a style that fits with this. The big downside for us of this was no aircon and whilst I appreciate that it's been unusually hot lately, nearly every other place we have stayed in has aircon. We were in the Chablis room which I thought was OK in size but because of the way the sun moved around the building it was very hot and stuffy and impossible to get window ventilation because the only natural light to the room was through French doors which faced out to the front of the property so couldn't be left open at night.
Further the room was quite dark at times yet opening the curtains meant that you had no privacy at all. I generally don't like net curtains but feel they are needed in this room. I'd probably go for a different room if visiting again.
It is walkable down into town (about 30 mins) at a reasonable pace but only the fitter would want to walk back. Therefore you have to get in your car to go out for evening dinner or call a taxi.
Breakfast was ok.
The owner was very helpful sorting out restaurant bookings for us and made a lovely cup of tea on our arrival.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your appreciation of the completely unexpected heat we are experiencing in Napier over the past few weeks. Our position overlooking the Ocean from the top of Napier Hill normally provides sufficent natural ventilation through the 1.4 metre opening window and double french doors which lead onto to the verandah.. However after previous guest feedback and before your visit, we did install an additional room circulation fan in your room, making a total of two - neither of which you used during your stay. We do our very best to respond to concerns as our guests experience is very important ot us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile


A historic B&B perched high above the city on hospital hill with beautifully restored woodwork, glistening floors and a terrific host/owner, Yvonne.

We stayed here three nights while on a 2-week holiday throughout New Zealand. We had come to Napier/Hawke's Bay to explore the vineyards and wineries.

This place is a bit tricky to find as it is located up atop fashionable hospital hill in the middle of narrow winding streets but trusty google maps did just fine. The inn itself is immaculately preserved and updated to suit the modern traveler. Since all the rooms are unique, TAKE CARE IN YOUR BOOKING. The king suites are spacious and inviting while the queen room we had on our first night disappointing.

We had used a travel agent and naively assumed he was watching out for our interests (perhaps we should have done more research) and were assigned one of the modest Queen room (Chablis-note on the website there is an incorrect link that takes you to the pictures and details for the Chianti room-one of the nice big guest suites). As the weather had become quite hot, and like most small business in New Zealand this place has NO A/C, the only way to get any air in was to leave the two French doors wide open. This would have been ok except we started being bothered by a few mosquitoes and since there weren't screens, wehad to close up the room and try an soldier on in a hot room. Can't recommend Chablis room.

Fortunately we were able to move to one of the larger rooms, Versailles for our final two nights (NZ$75 more per night) but well worth it. This room was on the side of the house and was perhaps 3 TIMES AS LARGE as our original room and since it faced the garden instead of the street with its street lamp drawing in bugs from far and wide, was a MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE for our final two night.

Pros:
-excellent hot cooked breakfast each morning (be sure to let Yvonne know the night before what you would want and what time you will dine
-lovely (but chilly) pool-perfect for cooling off after a hot day
-immaculate historic building
-nice firm beds (although a bit softer pillow would have been to my liking)
-Yvonne herself - she is very concerned that guests have reservations and tours and goes out of her way to be welcoming (and she reminds me a bit of Hellen Mirren-perhaps a younger sister)

Opportunities:
-I felt the soaps and such to be a bit down market
-with global warming I think A/C will soon be required given the room prices (or at least screens)

Bottom line: IF IN A KING SUITE-a must stay location; but book ahead, it’s a popular spot.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and positive comments - it was a pleasure having you to stay and assisting you in getting the best out of your time in Napier. You are misinformed about our website images -the images of the Chablis Room are correctly of the Chablis queen room in which you spent your first night -- the Chianti deluxe suite is very different and has deep red walls which you will see if you click on that room's images. We would not dream of trying to misinform our guests in that way. Our standard queen rooms are smaller than our very generously proportioned deluxe suites as indicated by the descriptions, titles and pricing.
As for the temperatures - New Zealand is currently sweltering in the highest temperatures ever recorded and unfortunately we received no warning this was going to happen. We are situated on Napier Hill and normally the sea breezes are perfectly adequate to keep both rooms and guests cool without the need for air conditoning or leaving the doors and windows open at night. If this weather pattern persists we would consider fitting air conditoning -however it is not something we could have fitted in the four weeks of high temperatures we have experienced recently. We do provide two pillow options in each room with non allergenic and soft down pillow options - if you had let me know that neither were to your satisfaction we would have done our best to find an alternative for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

While out of town and a long walk into either side for food, the place is spectacular and Yvonne runs a very efficient and wonderful lodge. While our room was a bit on the small side, the furnishings were unique and the breakfast could not have been more enjoyable. A true international location for meeting people from all over

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We are close to Napier town and Ahuriri but up on Napier Hill which does make for more than a casual stroll to the town centre or quayside but we are happy to book taxis or offer guidance on the more scenic walks into town through the Botanical Gardens. We do mainly cater for international visitors to New Zealand from thoughout the world which can make for interesting conversations between guests over welcoming refreshments on the deck or our complimentary pre dinner drinks. Guests often comment that they feel part of a 'house party" experience rather than a hotel and we do everything within our power to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope that next time you visit we can offer you one of our much larger super king deluxe suites to enhance your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My husband Paul and I had a 2 night stay at McHardy Lodge. We stayed in the Venice room which was very beautiful and comfortable.

Yvonne the owner and host was amazing, very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. She treated every guest incredibly well and the house is truly gorgeous. The breakfast was amazing especially the pancakes.

All in All a fabulous place to stay with a lovely warm host, thank you Yvonne you made my Birthday very special.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ang6158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review - it was a pleasure having you both to stay and I am pleased that we made your birthday extra special. We hope to see you on future birthdays and / or anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews