We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
159
10
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
10
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billiard room beautiful house venice suite chianti room maternity hospital new zealand hospital hill perched high breakfast is served king suite restaurant bookings small pool stayed longer superb accommodation french doors three nights art deco tour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This is a B&B based in a building from the Victorian era and is generally decorated in a style that fits with this. The big downside for us of this was no aircon and whilst I appreciate that it's been unusually hot lately, nearly every other place we have stayed in has aircon. We were in the Chablis room which I thought was OK in size but because of the way the sun moved around the building it was very hot and stuffy and impossible to get window ventilation because the only natural light to the room was through French doors which faced out to the front of the property so couldn't be left open at night.
Further the room was quite dark at times yet opening the curtains meant that you had no privacy at all. I generally don't like net curtains but feel they are needed in this room. I'd probably go for a different room if visiting again.
It is walkable down into town (about 30 mins) at a reasonable pace but only the fitter would want to walk back. Therefore you have to get in your car to go out for evening dinner or call a taxi.
Breakfast was ok.
The owner was very helpful sorting out restaurant bookings for us and made a lovely cup of tea on our arrival.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your appreciation of the completely unexpected heat we are experiencing in Napier over the past few weeks. Our position overlooking the Ocean from the top of Napier Hill normally provides sufficent natural ventilation through the 1.4 metre opening window and double french doors which lead onto to the verandah.. However after previous guest feedback and before your visit, we did install an additional room circulation fan in your room, making a total of two - neither of which you used during your stay. We do our very best to respond to concerns as our guests experience is very important ot us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile


A historic B&B perched high above the city on hospital hill with beautifully restored woodwork, glistening floors and a terrific host/owner, Yvonne.

We stayed here three nights while on a 2-week holiday throughout New Zealand. We had come to Napier/Hawke's Bay to explore the vineyards and wineries.

This place is a bit tricky to find as it is located up atop fashionable hospital hill in the middle of narrow winding streets but trusty google maps did just fine. The inn itself is immaculately preserved and updated to suit the modern traveler. Since all the rooms are unique, TAKE CARE IN YOUR BOOKING. The king suites are spacious and inviting while the queen room we had on our first night disappointing.

We had used a travel agent and naively assumed he was watching out for our interests (perhaps we should have done more research) and were assigned one of the modest Queen room (Chablis-note on the website there is an incorrect link that takes you to the pictures and details for the Chianti room-one of the nice big guest suites). As the weather had become quite hot, and like most small business in New Zealand this place has NO A/C, the only way to get any air in was to leave the two French doors wide open. This would have been ok except we started being bothered by a few mosquitoes and since there weren't screens, wehad to close up the room and try an soldier on in a hot room. Can't recommend Chablis room.

Fortunately we were able to move to one of the larger rooms, Versailles for our final two nights (NZ$75 more per night) but well worth it. This room was on the side of the house and was perhaps 3 TIMES AS LARGE as our original room and since it faced the garden instead of the street with its street lamp drawing in bugs from far and wide, was a MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE for our final two night.

Pros:
-excellent hot cooked breakfast each morning (be sure to let Yvonne know the night before what you would want and what time you will dine
-lovely (but chilly) pool-perfect for cooling off after a hot day
-immaculate historic building
-nice firm beds (although a bit softer pillow would have been to my liking)
-Yvonne herself - she is very concerned that guests have reservations and tours and goes out of her way to be welcoming (and she reminds me a bit of Hellen Mirren-perhaps a younger sister)

Opportunities:
-I felt the soaps and such to be a bit down market
-with global warming I think A/C will soon be required given the room prices (or at least screens)

Bottom line: IF IN A KING SUITE-a must stay location; but book ahead, it’s a popular spot.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and positive comments - it was a pleasure having you to stay and assisting you in getting the best out of your time in Napier. You are misinformed about our website images -the images of the Chablis Room are correctly of the Chablis queen room in which you spent your first night -- the Chianti deluxe suite is very different and has deep red walls which you will see if you click on that room's images. We would not dream of trying to misinform our guests in that way. Our standard queen rooms are smaller than our very generously proportioned deluxe suites as indicated by the descriptions, titles and pricing.
As for the temperatures - New Zealand is currently sweltering in the highest temperatures ever recorded and unfortunately we received no warning this was going to happen. We are situated on Napier Hill and normally the sea breezes are perfectly adequate to keep both rooms and guests cool without the need for air conditoning or leaving the doors and windows open at night. If this weather pattern persists we would consider fitting air conditoning -however it is not something we could have fitted in the four weeks of high temperatures we have experienced recently. We do provide two pillow options in each room with non allergenic and soft down pillow options - if you had let me know that neither were to your satisfaction we would have done our best to find an alternative for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

While out of town and a long walk into either side for food, the place is spectacular and Yvonne runs a very efficient and wonderful lodge. While our room was a bit on the small side, the furnishings were unique and the breakfast could not have been more enjoyable. A true international location for meeting people from all over

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We are close to Napier town and Ahuriri but up on Napier Hill which does make for more than a casual stroll to the town centre or quayside but we are happy to book taxis or offer guidance on the more scenic walks into town through the Botanical Gardens. We do mainly cater for international visitors to New Zealand from thoughout the world which can make for interesting conversations between guests over welcoming refreshments on the deck or our complimentary pre dinner drinks. Guests often comment that they feel part of a 'house party" experience rather than a hotel and we do everything within our power to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope that next time you visit we can offer you one of our much larger super king deluxe suites to enhance your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

My husband Paul and I had a 2 night stay at McHardy Lodge. We stayed in the Venice room which was very beautiful and comfortable.

Yvonne the owner and host was amazing, very friendly, informative and knowledgeable. She treated every guest incredibly well and the house is truly gorgeous. The breakfast was amazing especially the pancakes.

All in All a fabulous place to stay with a lovely warm host, thank you Yvonne you made my Birthday very special.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ang6158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review - it was a pleasure having you both to stay and I am pleased that we made your birthday extra special. We hope to see you on future birthdays and / or anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Stayed just the one night - Yvonne (The Owner) did everything even prior to our arrival to make sure our stay with her was the best experience we could have had. \

Contacting us before hand to see if we needed dinner reservations etc - a real nice touch and her recommendation (Missionary Valley Winery) was spot on to what we had asked for.

We booked 2 rooms - both were spectacular. Lovely pool area and stunning stunning views.

The breakfast was incredible - prepared exactly as we asked for.

To the point in the morning we felt like we needed to make the beds as we felt like we had stayed with relatives rather than a hotel..

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED..

Room tip: Superior Rooms are superb
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for posting such a glowing review. We do try to assist guests who book with us to make the most of their time in Napier and we try our best to find out exactly what guests want before their arrival - we know how disappointing it is to arrive and find that the best restaurant is fully booked. We know the area and what it has to offer well and can usually find exactly the best activity, event or restaurant to make our guests' stay extra special. We believe the personal touch we offer is what makes McHardy Lodge extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews