We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the outset the most difficult people to deal with...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Reviewed 14 February 2016

You would think that 80 or so guests for three days and two nights and at least a years notice would be enough for a venue to get itself sorted out.
There was just nothing really friendly about this venue at all. As far as a camping ground was concerned I would give it 3/10 for location and activities.
Service I would rate at zero.
Most of the problem was from the general demeanour of the owners. I understand that 80 or so guests is a great deal of people but all they had to do to solve most of the problems was to put on at least two more staff, especially at meal times. Ordering a drink was met with drooping shoulders and a sigh ... I was waiting for the proverbial "oh no ... not another customer!"
The general facilities were of a poor standard and the area we spent most of our time as in a group had absolutely no lighting at all apart from the fire we created.
Surely this is an occupational and health standard. Are we really expected to get around a main meeting area with only lights from our cameras.
Considering the huge amount of money spent, the countless hours of exchanging emails and getting no clear responses I can only say that if anyone is considering this venue for a large gathering .. DO NOT.
And to be accused late at night by the ramblings of the owner driving at speed into our camp that we had "stolen" his ipad and that we were all to be searched upon leaving in the morning was absurd to say the least. I was actually hoping he would demand to do that as I was going to call the police and have them sort it out.
I believe he owes our whole family an apology for his boorish behaviour. He is a blight on the tourism industry in New Zealand.

Room Tip: Don't go would be my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
14  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016

A great location,good food and reasonable accommodation - It should have been an idyllic weekend, right? Wrong! Enter our pedantic, nitpicking, inflexible and rude host who effortlessly upset many members of our group and made sure there was no chance of any customer satisfaction. Whether he's sober or not Doug needs to learn that the name of the business he is in is called hospitality and that his business depends in no small part to word of mouth recommendations and repeat business. There certainly won't be any of that from any of the 80 or so members of our group.

Stayed: February 2016
11  Thank kelvie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Such a shame a location like this with so many activities to do was spoiled by such rude hosts. We were all gathered around the fire when Doug rudely disrupted our party and announce his ipad had gone missing and that none of our group would be allowed to leave till he had done a search of all of our cars when we left !!!
Our meal was spoilt when we were told the dessert would be on the table for 5 mins then taken away as the icecream would melt
We stayed in a chalet and the toilet block in that area was dirty with cobwebs and insects all down the inside of the toilet doors
There was a lack of lights from the dining room up the ramp and no lights in the chalet area.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
11  Thank 103Grace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Our family reunion was planned well in advance and people came from all over the world. As said in other reviews the location was stunning and the activities were enjoyed but the total lack of friendliness by our hosts was appalling. Our family group consisted of more that 75 people and the total cost I am sure was certainly more than an average earning weekend at Mountain Valley.

When we attempted to check in we were ignored by Doug while he continued to watch the cricket and chat on the phone. This along with him insinuating on our second evening that somebody lifted his laptop or ipad (he couldn't decide which?) when clearly he was intoxicated and I am sure he has now recovered where he left it.

The facilities were basic which is expected when you are camping but we didn't expect them to be so unclean and run down.

Thankfully we all made the most of it and had a great time catching up.

Won't be back though!

Room Tip: Totora Chalet has no oven or couch but the other chalets do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Mountain Valley is an awesome spot and this place could be so much better. We were extremely disappointed with the state of the accommodation. The toilet block absolutely reeked of urine when we arrived and was not cleaned the whole time we were there. The showers had holes in the walls and were very neglected. Dead insects were everywhere and live cockroaches crawling the walls. The bunk beds did not have guard rails and pillows kept falling off meaning a very bad sleep. The hosts did not make us feel welcome and only seemed concerned about how much money they could make off the group. We were given 5 minutes to eat our dessert buffet or the icecream would melt! The attitude of the hosts was appalling. Doug was rude not only to the guests but also his staff. We would never return unless Doug & Julie had sold up and moved on. Hopefully one day someone will buy the property and put some effort into keeping the maintenance & cleanliness up and will give paying customers good quality service with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pinetreehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
42.7 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
708 reviews
41.8 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
40 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
601 reviews
41.7 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
830 reviews
39.9 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge

Address: 408 McVicar Rd | Rd2, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: $15 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge & Camping Ground is a slice of paradise hidden on the mystical Mohaka River in Hawke's Bay on the Napier-Taupo road. Escape for a while and have an adventure or just relax in our serene setting. There is something for everyone including Rafting, Horse Trekking, Archery, Mountain Biking, Bush Walks, Paintball, Claybird Shooting & Swimming as well as a Bar & Restaurant. Accommodation ranges from self-contained cottages to camping; lodge rooms to cabins. Grab the family or rustle up some friends and come on a true blue kiwi holiday at Mountain Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing