We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinsgreat hostsfriendly dogsgorgeous housenew zealandhawkes bay regionour night stayb bsglass of wineorchardbrianhomestaylabradorkiwifruitnzworkingswineries
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Gorgeous home surrounded by an orchard. The room felt luxurious, very comfortable bed and attached bathroon. The hosts were so sweet and helpful with planning our trip. The breakfast was fantastic. I definitely want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We traveled through North Island with a 2-week schedule and decided that we should make use of a 2-night stay out of the mostly 1-night stays to experience a B&B in NZ. We chose Napier and then Redcliffe seemed to be the top choice. We were not disappointed. First the national flag. Being far out from Napier town and not terribly sure whether we followed the GPS correctly to Redcliffe, we saw our national flag high on a mast! We then knew we arrived; how thoughtful!. Sue and Brian and their labradors were really wonderful hosts. We loved the setting, which is a private property used mainly for kiwi fruits, and the house, said to be more than a hundred years old. We picked the smaller room (cheaper of course) but which has a wonderful view of the yards. We love the continental breakfasts with homemade cereal of muesli and mixed nuts, and mixed fruits from the yards, and orange juice right from the trees. The house has quite a few thoughtful sustainability features. Heating is by fire wood harvested from fend trees; some of that heat is harnessesed to heat the inlet air to the bathroom when the light is turned on; some really neat ideas. Which includes a self-contained wastewater treatment system using bacteria that is sensitive to mouthwash much as Listerine. For which reason a little notice on the bathroom mirror requests guest to throw mouthwash out of the widow rather than into the sink. This necessary quirky behavior, which we respected despite the cold, and a couple of roaches we had to help exterminate in the bathroom generated some bathroom excitements in otherwise very pleasant experience of what must be a b&b standard bearer in NZ.

Stayed: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C, Owner at Redcliffe Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thanks AK for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed your company and I am mortified that you had to deal with roaches in the bathroom. I so wish you had called out to me for help. As you know, the house is surrounded by extensive gardens, home to millions of critters. However, as I refuse to have the house sprayed, we do sometimes find bugs inside.
In spite of this, I certainly hope we see you again if you come back to visit the gannets when the weather is warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The surroundings, the home, the room, the welcome, the hostess, the breakfasts: all top notch. We had two nights in what was an idyllic place. Lots of fresh fruit plus produce from the orchard on the table each morning. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Only two rooms available, both excellent
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. Doubt if anything better in Hawkes bay. Lovely rooms. Great help and advice from hosts. Highly recommend. Great things to do in the area. Wineries are a must. Local area good. Great Base for the rest of Hawkes bay.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank tomo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This is the perfect B and B! Gracious, helpful hosts, beautiful, comfortable accommodation, in a rural setting, a few minutes drive from town. If you want a relaxing, peaceful and beautiful place to stay, this is for you! There are 2 double rooms available
and we were 2 couples travelling together, so it was perfect for us. Our stay here was a certainly a highlight of our New Zealand holiday.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews