We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
122
146
53
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
146
53
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jumping pillow bedroom villa holiday units powered site camper van great swimming pool camping ground family holiday kids playground games room great facilities would stay here again onsite restaurant double bed reception staff main bedroom minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Although the accommodation I booked was known to be a little older, I was initially disappointed by it’s look - it was a step back in time with wood paneling walls and dated furniture, but it did prove to be comfortable and convenient. The facilities are good - pool is great.

However it was significantly let down by the details. The restaurant was not open due to renovations, impacting plans for easy dinner and breakfast but there was no advanced notice despite recent confirmation and even at check-in it took two questions to find that out. There was no bin or soap in the shower (and we couldn’t buy soap on site), a door off the kitchen cabinets, limited kitchen utensils, and even the information folder was dirty and broken. Just felt like a lack of care.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hudsonhmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not informed upon check-in that our restaurant was closed due to re-flooring. It is our responsibility to let every guest know upon check-in. I am sorry that you had no soap in your unit, if the reception were informed they would have contacted house keeping to bring you some over. We appreciate your feedback on the issues that you have mentioned.
We do hope that you still managed to enjoy your stay with us and we do hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here before, it’s expensive but good facilities and central so paid the money only to find we were in an almost empty camp but stuck next to a FULL garbage truck parked at the recycling depot.. birds pecking at the plastic bags... not even offered a discount.. won’t again

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gillypip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, I am unsure of the dates that you stayed, but if it was at the weekend, we had a full resort when it came to the rooms. If you were camping, it would have been less busy, had we known at reception that you were not happy with where you were situated, we would have happily moved you to a different site. We are happy to move any of our guests if the availability allows us to do so.
We do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a dated 2bdr unit that was a time watp from the 70s. Smelly, and despite having burglar windows was kept all closed up. Bed hurt my back. Kitchen cupboard doors not hanging true. Door warped. Coke machine stole our money. Oddly they chose to put the next family to arrive next to us instead of the other units which remained empty. Good location and mostly quiet. A good option if stuck for somewhere to stay. Not cheap for something so old.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ScottH4892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Scott, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room, We are working towards updating these units. We do only have four of these room types available, one of them was already having maintenance work done to it and the last one could easily have been sold. i am sorry to hear that the vending machine swollowed your money, this machine is hired from a company, so once we are informed we will contact them for you.
I am pleased that you were happy with our location and i do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Recently stayed at this lovely resort in Napier. Our motel room was lovely and clean and serviced daily. The grounds were lovely and tidy and it was lovely swimming in the heated pool. The staff we spoke to were nice and friendly. Would stay here again.

Room tip: Room 17 had views over resort gardens to neighbouring street
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WendyMcP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hi Wendy, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you were happy with your room, our facilities and staff. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Initially booked a twin motel unit but upgraded ourselves to the 1 bedroom motel, it is worth the extra money if you can afford it.

Room was clean, my only negative was I didn't think the lino floor had been mopped for awhile as our feet would get quite dirty walking on it even from check in. But that is minor as the rest of the room was super clean and the shower door was so clean I didn't realise it was there initially! Room opened up to a lovely lawn and most mornings we would have lots of birds and two ducks to feed from our door. Lots of lovely birdlife around.

Awesome set up for kids, the jumping pillow was a huge hit with our son and the pool was amazing. Heated so even when the wind was a bit chilly it was still beautiful to be in. And a great depth too. I wish they would ban personal bluetooth speakers in the pool area as we had a few cases of people playing their music quite loudly and some of the songs weren't appropriate for smaller ears. Also as our motel room was near the pool we could hear it from our room which was super annoying, especially as the complex has quite a good noise policy. I wouldn't change rooms though as it was absolutely awesome being so close to the pool, especially given how often we used it.

Laundry is quite expensive at $4 a go for the washing machine (powder automatically dispenses into the wash) and it only takes $2 coins and there are no clothes airers in the room, we ended up buying some at the Warehouse. No pegs provided but you can buy some at Reception but you don't get many for the price. So either buy/bring pegs or an airer for use. No coat hangers in the room either. But for some reason each room has an ironing board but no iron provided... there is a fixed iron (with a board) in the laundry room though.

All in all enjoyed our stay and will be back should we return to Napier.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrsandmrnovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, General Manager at Kennedy Park Resort Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of our facilities and your room. Your room should have had an iron in the room, this is automatically supplied for you. Any missing items from your room please contact reception and we can resolve this during your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that guests were playing loud music around the pool, if you inform our reception we can deal with this matter immediately.
I am pleased to hear that you will return to stay with us again should you visit Napier, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews