We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
46
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco town new zealand wished we could have stayed longer separate bathroom hawkes bay town centre catherine host
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We had space, comfort, luxury and the friendliest host you could wish. What a 'find'! Nothing was too much trouble and the surroundings and views from the deck were just wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the lounge area for the sole use of guests was spacious and well appointed, with refreshments topped up regularly. Wish we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we had booked on our travels around the N. Island.

Room Tip: Accommodation excellent, no need to choose a particular room
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

So glad you enjoyed your time here. Yes, our large upstairs deck is a wonderful place to sit with a wine in hand and watch the sea in one direction or views over the city in the other! We are spoiled! Best wishes to you both, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Our 3 week trip around the North Island included some great accommodation in fantastic locations but none better than our only B&B- Seaview Lodge. Our ensuite room was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely view over the beach and Napier. Over a delicious breakfast Catherine, our host, would give options for places to see, restaurants and vineyards not to miss and interesting historical facts on the local area. It felt like we were visiting a friend. We stayed 3 nights and we still could have seen and done more. Thanks Catherine xx

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review ..... and for your lovely comments! I guess that is the difference between a B and B and other accommodation types - I love to give that personal service and care and add that 'extra' to the whole Hawkes Bay experience.
I really enjoyed having you both here and hope you will return - still many more wineries and fantastic restaurants to enjoy!! Regards, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Travelled down to Napier from Auckland, via Rotorua, arriving at this bed & breakfast, tired. This was immediately forgotten on realising that we had booked in to probably, the best B&B in Napier! The rooms were delightful, spacious, comfortable with a balcony overlooking the bay and the town. Catherine is a perfect host and the girls made good use of the breakfast room/dance room and piano! Lovely breakfast to set us up for the day ahead. Wished we had booked at least two nights to discover more of Napier's Art Deco.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review - so glad the girls could make use of our large breakfast room and get in some dance practice! The joy of the beautiful wooden floor and piano! Yes, it is a shame you couldn't stay longer - next time 2 or 3 nights! Regards, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

As two couples we had the upstairs area to use. The large deck offered great views over Hawkes Bay. Woke up to a great sunrise.

Our rooms were very large, comfortable and clean.

Catherine provided with relevant information regarding dining and was there to help when required.

Catherine's "B and B" ticks all the boxes. Easy stroll down steps to the town, rooms are clean and spacious.

Have no hesitation in recommending Seaview Lodge to visitors to Napier.

Room Tip: Both rooms are large and have views.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for taking time to write a review and for your kind words. Yes, there is something extra special about a Hawkes Bay sun rise! Great to meet you all. Regards, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

After much searching on the internet we settled on Seaview Lodge and we couldn't have been happier. Catherine, the hostess, was so accommodating and had thought of everything. Imagine our delight when we arrived home at night to the warmth of a beautiful fire roaring away. We had the upstairs space to ourselves and felt thoroughly spoilt with the space and views. The bed was very comfortable and after a good nights sleep, we were treated to a very yummy home made breakfast - top marks for the croissants.
Catherine was very helpful in advising her guests of suitable activities and restaurants. She was bang on with her recommendations.
We loved the fact we could just walk to town - no parking to worry about.
Thanks for the great couple of nights Catherine - hopefully it won't be too long before we are back enjoying your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NZBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your wonderful comments. That is exactly why I do what I do! I love to try and enhance every guest's stay at Seaview and help make their time in the wonderful Hawkes Bay even better! I look forward to seeing you both again the future. All the best, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews