We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
46
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco town new zealand wished we could have stayed longer separate bathroom hawkes bay town centre catherine host
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We could only stay one night on a road trip through North Island but would have liked to have stayed longer. Catherine is a great host who has the knack of knowing just how much time to spend with her guests and how much to leave them to their own devices. Fabulous house with antique furniture,lovely comfortable room, great view and an easy walk into the beautiful city of Napier. When I wondered aloud how difficult it might be to turn our car around in the morning in the small parking area Catherine took the keys and did it for us!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Fantastic property with lovely period furnishings, situated just up from the sea front. On the front is a good set of outdoor pools so it was imperative to have a swim before breakfast. The host was super friendly, breakfast wonderful. We were the only guests at the time and had all the top floor to ourselves, so felt very luxurious (especially with the pools close by). Thoroughly recommended. Also worth mentioning that the town is one of the best to visit in NZ, good restaurants and climate!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilipPJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you for your great review. Always good to hear when guests not only enjoy Seaview Lodge but Napier as well. Yes, we are very lucky to have that wonderful outdoor pool complex down the stairs and across the road with the ocean behind - a winning combination! Best, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Perched on the hill this historic hotel has the most marvellous view of the Bay.

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. Our host was great. The house dates from the turn of two centuries ago. The rooms are well appointed.

All the Xmas lights were in the pine trees and we had an excelent meal at the Mint on Marine Parade.

Good value

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Richard, great to meet you all and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Seaview and our wonderful view! The Christmas lights you mention in the Norfolk pines across the road from us are now all year round which is lovely. Always helpful too when guests recommend a restaurant, thank you. Regards Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Beautiful rooms with a view of Hawks Bay. Lovely balcony and common room. Great location, although get directions. It is a bit hard to find. Catherine is an enthusiastic and fantastic host!
We were traveling with another couple so it was a perfect arrangement. Wish we had booked for longer.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Cathy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Thanks for the review and your kind words - great to meet you all and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards. Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We stayed at Seaview for 2 days during our honeymoon trip through New Zealand. The views to the ocean were nice; but the location to Napier and everything it has to offer was even better. Catherine was superb-- she made us feel like we had come home, and gave excellent tips and advice for dining and excursions, which we really appreciated. This place, and the stay, was a highlight of our trip

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind words. Yes, being only a 3 minute walk to town and all it has to offer is a great point of difference for us and the sea view is not too bad either! Great to meet you both and Congratulations again, I wish you every happiness. Regards, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews