We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern thai done delicious”
Review of Sai Thai Eatery

Sai Thai Eatery
Ranked #72 of 224 Restaurants in Napier
Description: Sai Eatery is Napier’s newest Thai dining experience. We offer a modern menu to our customers. Freshness and flavour are never compromised with the delicious, vibrant menu being matched equally with a stunning décor and excellent service.
Restaurant details
Description: Sai Eatery is Napier’s newest Thai dining experience. We offer a modern menu to our customers. Freshness and flavour are never compromised with the delicious, vibrant menu being matched equally with a stunning décor and excellent service.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Friday night mix up meant huby and I were free for dinner so we thought we’d try this new place. No booking but they were anle to accomodate, great front of house staff. We just had mains, the tamrind salmon and beef rib curry. Both great, the roti didn’t seem like it was cooked in house but delicious nonetheless.

Thank HB_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saithainz, Manager at Sai Thai Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Sara,
Glad to know our wonderful front of house staff made you feel welcome. The Tamarind Salmon and beef rib curry is a popular choice with many of our customers, so I'm glad you had the opportunity to try and enjoy the amazing flavours. Look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were booked for a table for 4, we got 2 "miniature" round tables pushed together .
The entree was OK...a "one bite" of crispy pork rind but worse was to come!!Three of us ordered the Chicken and Cashews and that was literally it! Chicken and cashew stir fried with a little onion. I had the green chicken curry. well actually it was GREY Chicken Curry. 4 slices of courgette with a mass of bamboo shoots and chicken pieces boiled to a pulp in a greyish coconut sauce..awful awful awful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We shared four entrees and three mains with rice. After the entrees we considered cancelling mains and ordering another round of entrees - Thai style tapas; so very good were the entrees! The mains didn't disappoint either - beef and chicken dishes were outstanding! The pad Thai was a little different to what we were expecting - thin noodles vs flat noodles. Staff were attentive if a little too at times.
Would we dine here again - 100% yes!
Suggest you pre-book either by phone or email.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank expatkiwiwairoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saithainz, Manager at Sai Thai Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks for your 5 star review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meals here at SAI and we look forward to having you dine with us again. Yes it does pay to book via phone, website or email :-). as we do fill up very fast and especially Friday / Saturday nights. Comes see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Went with a group of friends to this gem of a restaurant in lucky Napier. What an amazing meal. Started with an entree of Meang Kana and the mussels, then we had an assortment of mains to share, all of which were fresh, full of flavour and delicious. One of the few places you can still take your own wine but you can also buy at the restaurant. We decided we just had to try the creme brulee for dessert, what a blast. I had eaten one I thought couldnt be beaten in Paris, but this was right up there with the best. Service was good, wait staff friendly.
Thank you Sai Thai, will definitely be back

Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saithainz, Owner at Sai Thai Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Kate, thank-you very much for your fantastic feedback. Everyone loves our infamous Meang Kana and so glad you did too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

OMG the tastes just absolutely exploded in my mouth. The Entree we had wrapped in the leaf with a crispy pork rind...if you love food this is too die for. Truly has your pallet overworking with the flavors... for my maims i ordered the ribs. Was not expecting to see them dished up in a soup style. But again the flavours just explode in your mouth will definitely go back there to try everything off their menu, including my fav entree

Thank LAURA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saithainz, General Manager at Sai Thai Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thankyou Laura :-) Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the Meang Kana. It's definitely a 'must try', the flavours that come together are amazing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sai Thai Eatery also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Sai Thai Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing