We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weatshore inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westshore Beach Inn

Westshore Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 184 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 14
Cuisines: Philippine, Bar, Asian, Pub, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hawkes Bays oldest Pub still operating on its original site - 1925 when the current building was established. Licenced since 1851!! Westshore Beach Inn has become a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike. Napiers craft bier library- We have the most fabulous range of craft bier FRESH from the tap - Our own on site micro brewery 25 FREH biers on tap at any one time. Fill here - Take there....YES we fill Pots, Growlers, Camels n Riggers!! We have our Bistro with a fabulous lawn area that starts the day with lunch ( from 11.30am) then continuous through to dinner 7 days a week. The Bistro & Philippine Asian Kitchen all do simple fresh food with produce from Napier County and its artisans. Fresh Food NOT fast food from local suppliers is the mantra we operate to. Free range chicken and Verry's free range eggs feature on all menus. Our sustainably caught Fresh Fish is caught DAILY by Karl and Sarah from Better Fishing - It is the most superb flavour and texture - Often only a few hours since being caught. We are delighted to announce we have opened our Philippine Asian Kitchen with authentic and fresh flavours - OPEN dinner Tuesday to Sunday (Sunday lunch). Cheers & Beers The Bayliss family
1 review
“Weatshore inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Never fails to please. Awesome food and astmosphere. Make sure you try the ribs best in nz. And make sure you catch up and have a chat with Henry behind the bar he is someone you won't forget.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhill32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Great, the ribs certainly are getting a following. We only use New Zealand farmed Pork ribs by the way. The secret recipe is....well secret. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    44
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food is all fresh & is localy grown, & very well presented, by friendly staff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for recognising the simple things that we are trying to achieve - fresh, well presented food with friendly staff. The staff are of course criticaal and we are very lucky that we get it right more than wrong!! Practice makes perfect. Hope we see you again soon. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an up lifting transformation over the last year or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The locals in this area are so lucky to have such a high quality bistro
so close, well priced and great food, friendly staff.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank parkit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review us. It is hard to get people into Hospitality and people like you appreciating their service inspires them - Thanks, Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Quality meal at good price"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Easy going and relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. Good quality meal at the right price.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thanks Jonathon, are staff certainly can make all the difference. A friendly Pub Bistro we are. Have a great 2012. Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh tasty food, with great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The food was delivered quickly, and tasted great. Would recommend for any traveller passing through.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thanks Jeff, we are trying really hard to keep it Fresh but fast (NOT fast Food) in our Pub Bistro. & Beers for a great 2012 - Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing