We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Value for money, and very clean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Gardens Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Gardens Motel
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Value for money, and very clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My friend and I stayed there for the Spring Rose Convention. Although it is an older style motel, we found it very clean, comfortable beds, with the linen changed daily, what more could you want than a comfortable bed, clean linen daily and a nice hot shower. It also obviously being updated. It was handy to our venue. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

A work colleague and I stayed here during the annual Mystery Creek Field Days (120,000 people visit the city at this time). Only accommodation we could get near the city at this time due to a late decision to go. The motel booklet states how the current managers have not had their lease renewed so no more upgrades would be made. Talk about in a time warp - shower from the 70's with a curtain, motel until could sleep four and the bathroom had to be accessed through the bedroom which was hopeless for those sleeping in the lounge area. Heat pump was ineffectual, oven didn't go, batteries in tv remote were flat (not a major, but they shouldn't have been), two yapping dogs in the office area. Can't say one positive thing about the place.

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

+
Good Host
Roomy

_

Oldish
Low pressure shower
Extra charges for local calls (not used to this in N America)

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank niloc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

This was a good location for me as I was travelling back towards Auckland airport from the Mount Manganui peninsula and needed an overnight stop. The motel is situated on the edge of town, less than 5 mins from the main highway, so you can avoid all the town centre traffic. Also, it is only 5 mins from the Hamilton Gardens which are certainly worth a visit if you have 2-3 hours to spare.

The motel has basic facilities - nothing outstanding, but is clean and comfortable. The apartments are all ground floor, and the lounge has a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen, and the bedroom is a bit small. Bathroom area has shower and toilet. There is a Pizza Hut ,and McDonalds & other takeaways within 5-10 mins walk, but other restaurants are downtown. But I found this OK for one night. There is a very small swimming pool, which is not heated, and was available, but as the spa pool was being renovated and evidence of the work in process, e.g tools, I chose not to use it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — basic, but OK for one night
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 km away
Aspen Manor Motel
Aspen Manor Motel
#18 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.0 km away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#22 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 km away
Albert Court Motor Lodge
Albert Court Motor Lodge
#4 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#21 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 km away
No photo provided
River Vista
#6 of 15 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.7 km away
Colonial City Motel
Colonial City Motel
#37 of 64 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Gardens Motel

Property: Hamilton Gardens Motel
Address: 93 Grey Street | Hamilton East, Hamilton 3216, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing