We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Teal Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Teal Motor Lodge
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The motel is approx. 15 minutes walk from the city centre.
We had one of the bigger rooms and we were fine with this. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly. The motel has a swimming pool and you have also the chance to wash your car. At reception, there is also a free internet access, wireless is available in your rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
13
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Having stayed in many motels recently both in NZ aand the USA I would have to rate the teal in the top 10% overall. The service is excellent, the rooms have been modernized to a very good standard and they are absolutely spotless. The rate was very affordable although mine was corporate. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iagray206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed here for a night in November. Very helpful hosts, who did what they could to make it a good visit.

Had booked a one bedroom unit. Not very clean with quite a few dead flies lying on the floor. Door couldn't close completely, which made it cold in the night. The unit had a well equiped kitchen and a fine bathroom. The motel had a fine playground.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed at the Teal Motor Lodge for two days in October 2010.
Upon arrival, I received a very friendly greeting and was shown to my suite, which was towards the rear of the complex. Parking was immediately outside of the suite.

Immediately upon entering, I realised the attention to detail which has been spoken about in some other reviews here. Everything that could sparkle or shine, did sparkle and shine. The room was absolutely spotless and tastefully decorated, including a flat panel TV. The bed was very comfortable and I slept without any interruption both nights. Being right off the main road (Gladstone Road), it was very easy to get my bearings and find things in the local area.

The grounds around the motel were spotless and impeccably maintained.
Inclusive wi-fi internet access topped off a wonderful experience.

I had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be back the next time I am in Gisborne. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpdc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

How wonderful to step into our room and see that everything was clean, new, tidy and comfortable. No odds and ends of dishes, pans, table-ware. The all-glass shower was spotless, floors beautiful, towels thick and fluffy, bed linens very 21st century. It was very good value for the money! I would have liked to have a heated pool, but this wouldn't matter during the summer months. If road noise is an issue with you, ask for a unit in the very back, although we were in the front row and slept fine. Our two-night stay was great!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.9 km away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
1.8 km away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
1.7 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
136 reviews
1.5 km away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 km away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teal Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teal Motor Lodge

Property: Teal Motor Lodge
Address: 479 Gladstone Road | Te Hapara, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price range (per night): $109 - $162
Hotel Class:4 star — Teal Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Teal Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing