We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, quiet area, yet well connected by city buses” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domain Lodge
Ranked #22 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, quiet area, yet well connected by city buses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here while visiting NZ during the RWC 2011. Room was surprisingly big, ample space for 4 people (only 2 of us though). Rooms cleaned everyday and people working here are nice and friendly. :)

Lodge is located near a hospital (and is sponsored by the cancer society of NZ) and probably has guests like visiting doctors, patients etc.

Right opposite Domain park and the national museum (which by the way has a good collection of moari artifacts).

Not much going on around the lodge but it is only minutes away from New market shopping district.

Comfortable lodging at good prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
12
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We were attending a family wedding at the Auckland museum and picked this small 'lodge' due to it's close proximity. In total we had 4 rooms of variety of configurations. We ( 2 adults / 2 kids ) stayed in a apartment ( 2 story ). Downstairs there was a lounge room / kitchen and bathroom ( with bath ). Upstairs 2 bedrooms and a toilet.
Kitchen - small fridge / hot plates / microwave.
bathroom - great deep bath , over bath shower. beautifully clean. lovely white towels.
Bedrooms - great linen.

Lovely bi fold doors that opened up onto a balcony.

A beautiful garden within the complex.
WIFI available.
check in /out easy
plenty of parking available ( secure )
Easy to get to bus / walk to newmarket etc.
Housekeeping were excellent !!!!

This complex is part ofthe cancer foundation therefore offices / services do run during the day.

my parents had a suite that had enough room for us all to meet at the end of a busy day. ( full kitchen and laundry ).

We paid $200NZ per night and were very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I cannot recommend this place enough. The apartments we stayed in both times (first time there was 6 friends, and last visit 3 family members) was fantastic.
We stay at normally 41/2 star or 5 star properties but this surpasses all of them with the cleanliness of the rooms and surrounds.

As you would expect because the lower floors accommodate mainly cancer patients and their carers, everybody is respectful regarding noise etc. Nothing is ever too much trouble and parking is free within the price of the stay.

We have decided that with the bus stop just down the road, we will stay here often as all of the cbd is very close either by foot or by bus. I like the fact that our money is going to the cancer society and not some big hotel chain and that in itself is a big bonus.....

PEACEFUL, FRIENDLY, EASY TO GET ON AND OFF THE MOTORWAYS AND ABSOLUTELY SPOTLESS..... even has coffee plunger with grounds, couple of single serves of biscuits and plenty of tea, hot chocolate and coffee sachets. Fantastic outdoor gardens with lots of seats dotted around and an amazing feeling of tranquility.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed here with our two daughters (6&7) and had a family apartment for three nights. There were two bedrooms upstairs (one with twin beds, one with a double bed) with a shared ensuite between them and there was a kitchenette downstairs (kettle, hob, microwave, fridge and all utensils) with a dining/lounge room and another bathroom (shower over bath etc) as well as a nice balcony. Parking for one car was included in the rate (NZ$190 per night for two adults and two children) which was phenomenal value for the centre of the city. The Lodge is conveniently located a short bus ride or stroll from Newmarket and the city centre. We used it as a base for visiting the zoo, the Rainbows End theme park and dined out in Mission Bay. The room was extremely clean and nicely fitted out. The staff were wonderfully helpful and we had a great time here. Being able to support this facility for the benefit of the cancer patients was a great bonus! The ones who stay here are treated as outpatients and often have their families with them so don't worry that you are going to be bothering people if you take your kids. Ours were very welcome and loved the place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

We booked via the hotel's website, a 'response' email arrangement which worked well - they responded instantly to our enquiry, and we were expected when we arrived.

For our purposes, the hotel's location was excellent. It's on the periphery of the central business district, walking to which would take about 30 minutes. The city's circular 'Link' shuttle bus - a quite excellent service - passes the door, going both ways. Across the street is Auckland's marvellous Domain which, in turn, contains the stately War Memorial Museum. There is a large amount of in-built car parking, free to guests.

The building is modern (1999) with either standard or suite ('family') rooms. We had the latter, comprising separate sitting and sleeping areas (see photos). It had a garden balcony, and tea/coffee facilities, with a fridge. There are no restaurant facilities in the conventional sense, and no bar facilities at all. However, there are self-catering kitchen facilities which are most impressive, indeed. Each accommodation floor has its own, and they comprise multiple kitchens and room-allocated fridge/freezer facilities. If you like to self-cater, then this will suit you to a tee. If you want a restaurant, you will be less happy and will have to go out, including for breakfast.

Internet is available in the lobby for $3/halfhour and all rooms are wired for internet connection.

This hotel is owned by the Cancer Society and as such has the primary purpose of providing accommodation for cancer patients under treatment in the hospital across the road; subject to availability, some rooms are let to the general public, such as in our case; it's a means of defraying costs. Some may perhaps find this environment a little unsettling but let me say the atmosphere was terrific throughout, and we had most enjoyable times mingling with the guests/patients in the kitchen/dining area.

As a consequence of its medical purpose, the place it quite exceptionally clean - clinically so, in fact. Our shower curtain was changed every 2 days, for example. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

We thought it was extremely good value, certainly for this standard and location.

This is an establishment which has its unusual aspects but, provided you are happy with self-catering (or don't mind going out), we would recommend it most highly. It was quite excellent for our purposes and we had an enjoyable stay here, in every respect.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
City Towers
City Towers
#36 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 km away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#29 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.4 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 106 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
2.6 km away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domain Lodge

Property: Domain Lodge
Address: Park Road and Boyle Crescent | Grafton, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domain Lodge is a modern and welcoming motor lodge conveniently located in the central Auckland. An ideal choice for corporate or leisure, especially those visiting Auckland University, Starship and Auckland Hospitals or the vibrant and trendy restaurant and shopping districts of Parnell and Newmarket. More than a motel, Domain Lodge will feel like your home away from home with the best of Auckland at your doorstep. Its tranquil garden setting is a haven offering security and comfort after a busy day in the city. We are proud of our guest facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon. You are assured of a high standard of friendly service and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domain Hotel Auckland Central
Domain Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing