We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for Indian food”
Review of Little India - CLOSED

Little India
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have chosen to present some of the more characteristic, yet legendary dishes from North India, especially the Punjab. Our preparation makes our food beautiful to behold and addictive to the palate.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“ok for Indian food”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Reasonable quality,reasonable service,Reasonable price

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank goss0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food by the noise and service....”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We always enjoy the food at this restaurant chain but yet again the service and noise let's the place down. We asked twice for the blasting indian rock music was turned down. The decor is so bare that the noise amplifies around the cavernous room so you have to raise your voice to talk which then makes it noisier. The service was as usual, inattentive, uninterested & apologetic. We asked twice for popadoms and then again twice for water. The mains took over 25 minutes to come - after being prompted. There was many many takeaways going out of the door. The place had 6-8 patrons. Seems they penalize you for wanting to eat there.
Sorry Little India there's plenty of other places now so we won't be returning. Even if your food is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok but for the price I expected more.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The food is not bad, not great either.
Average

We had the Banquet so got to try quite a few different dishes; the butter chicken was the best. i would problem not go again..
The atmosphere was very nice and the tables laid out well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoBKaTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

ordered the butter chicken tonight, came with rice and ordered a naan on the side, it was top notch, the food was amazing, if you get the chance, check out this restaurant!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Deeply flavoured food and excellent value”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Having eaten well in Little India in Nelson we had dinner in the Auckland restaurant and were just as delighted with the food and service. Each dish is distinctively flavoured as it should be (but too often is not). This time we had the butter chicken and the lamb achari, both so good. If we were Auckland residents this would be a weekly pleasure.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarrieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing