We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”
Review of Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant - CLOSED

Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant
Price range: USD 0 - USD 92
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I had heard so much about kermadec and found the seafood quite ordinary and nothing like I was hoping for.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    89
    38
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Best views from tables outside on verandah upstairs, with excellent food

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faberge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast with great service”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

These guys are a class act. They still rate in the Viaduct and will be there for many more years, I expect.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougcoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best meal I had in New Zealand”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have to say that the food I had at the Kermadec set the bar VERY high for the rest of my time in New Zealand and no other restaurant came close to the food that Kermadec served me. I ordered the greenlipped mussels (AMAZING) and the Bluff oysters. They had just run out of the Bluff oysters but had replaced them with oysters caught in nearby Waiheke Island, and let me tell you, the Waiheke oysters BLEW the "go-to" Bluff oysters out of the water. AMAZING. Service was great, views were great, ambiance was great. Not one complaint... except that I live too far away to make it for dinner everyday.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nmflemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“sumptious seafood”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great setting on the balcony sipping French champagne and eating beautifully presented fresh tuna and prawns - very hard to beat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrkneygirlOratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing