We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”
Review of The Fox

The Fox
Ranked #170 of 2,440 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: USD 8 - USD 33
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner
Description: At The Fox Sporting bar and Restaurant we provide all things you love in a good bar and sports bar. Friendly people, warm atmosphere, great music, delicious NZ wines, hearty healthy food, cold beer on tap - and all the latest in sports LIVE. Whats more we have our own microbrewery and have Fox Gold, our very own beer! We have beautiful fresh NZ fresh fish daily and many other iconic Kiwi meals. We have a full range of burgers, steaks, salads and lighter meals. Also talk to our staff about getting a meal to takeaway. And to top it off you can enjoy some of the best views of the Harbour that Auckland has to offer right from the comfort of our front courtyard, while we wait on you! Most importantly we're here to have fun and make your visit a great time every time! So when it's good old fashioned hospitality you're looking for, or a sports bar to watch the game with fantastic atmosphere and like minded people that appreciate the same things as you in life... Then make your way to The Fox. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or a craft beer and bask in the sunshine, or savour al fresco dining by night and the great ambience our sports bar offers you on the waterfront. The Fox is crazy about watching, talking and playing Sport, we're all Sports mad! That's what we do and why we ARE the Home of Sport! Any day of the week or any time of the day if you're looking for a pub that's OPEN and showing the game, look no further than The Fox - we've got all the big games on Live and Loud on our 10 big screens. Yes, we're the sports bar that has it all, and right on Auckland's waterfront. 10 Big screens - All the Big Games played Live & Loud! The Fox strives to be your local pub. So come on in and get comfortable! The Fox is in the heart of the city. You can wander in and chat to your favourite bar tender about the latest in sports, meet up with your mates after work for a Fox Gold from our very own microbrewery and a few games of pool or just kick back and watch the match in style and comfort at the friendliest sports bar in Auckland! Pop in for a hearty and healthy pub meal or you can order from the comfort of your room if you are staying at the Sebel!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stopped here on our way back to the airport, Staff were amazing, chatty and helpful, food was delish and big serves, could spend all day here if I had time.

Thank Vixsta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback. We try our best to make everybody welcome. Happy that you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

After much debate between my friend and I, The Fox won over Giraffe due to the noticeable change in popularity we had to see what the fuss was about and was pleasantly surprised. The food was amazing, a definite improvement on a visit earlier in the year. Atmosphere spot on. Service still a bit slow but all in all a great experience. Can definitely see why they are rivalling some of the more well known spots in the Viaduct of late.

1  Thank 785tabbym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always trying to improve will make more efforts on our speed. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Had breakfast this morning. We were a group of four, we ordered breakfast which consisted of variations of eggs on toast and drinks (coffee, tea and 2 x orange juice) which took 40 Minutes to arrive. The bread was untoasted so we returned it, their 2nd attempt was better but the scrambled egg was disappointing. Over priced, poorly prepared food and second rate service is not adequate.

Thank donnajohnson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFox_Viaduct, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We apologize that your experience was not good. As mondays are normally a slow day we had trainees working but unfortunately due to the concerts we had a huge rush of customer and struggled a bit. We apologize and hope that you will give us a chance to make it up to. Hope you has a pleasant stay in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Place is very accommodating to whatever game you want to watch, just call them early with what you need so they can set it up for you.

One of few places in Auckland where you can watch overseas games

Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback. We aim to please. We love our sports here and we are happy that you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

A really awesome bar for watching sports. Cosy sofa groups and good food. The staff is very friendly and helpful, great service. This is the place to go!

Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFox_Viaduct, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for you kind review. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing