We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Such a interesting trip

I took a group of elderly folk 75 to 98years and it was a magic day for them nothing was hard for... read more

Reviewed 28 May 2018
NickieF331b
,
Auckland, New Zealand
A very pleasant day out at a reasonable price

Enjoyed a nice day on the Kiapara Harbour,with lots of interesting commentry. We were a little... read more

Reviewed 20 February 2018
brendanorm
,
Whangarei, New Zealand
Read all 12 reviews
  
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shelly beach hour cruise farm park informative commentary river waterway skipper otley ashore boarded crossing wharf height crew boat history
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Enjoyed a nice day on the Kiapara Harbour,with lots of interesting commentry.
We were a little dissapointed that we didnt go further up to closer to the entrance,but that was our fault for not researching beforehand.
The stop at Shelly Beach was 2 hours,we enjoyed a picnic lunch beachside and a wander around.We did get a coffee at the cafe,however felt it was overpriced and it wasnt the best,tasting being burnt and weak

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank brendanorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Excellent service and would recommend for a relaxed and peaceful day's outing. Very clear and informative commentary. Stop at Shelley Beach for lunch was excellent - The Jetty restaurant served beautiful fish and chips (among other things) and the service was quick and efficient. Just enough time ashore to have a walk and explore.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank GayG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful time spent on this great little cruise boat,amazing skipper with a fountain of knowledge about this beautiful waterway.
Spent the afternoon as invited guests for anniversary celebration,boarded at Parakai (spring road),upto Shelly beach for lunch,nice gentle cruising,then back in time for a couple of cooling beers, a great day out thanks to the crew and a big thankyou for the invite !

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank STEVECLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This interesting and very historic part of Auckland in the North Island is still mainly rural. The farms surround the largest harbour in the Southern Hemisphere. Our cruise captain was very informative and gave an interesting talk on the history. I was amazed to hear that many sailing ships entered over the dangerous entrance to this harbour in the early days to take on cargos of Kauri timber. Our 5 hour trip included a lunch stop at Shelly Beach for either a picnic or fish and chips at the café.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Our large group was picked up at the Parakai Wharf just outside Helensville, and enjoyed about a three-hour round trip through the waterways and into the Kaipara Harbour. A substantial lunch was provided for us all plus tea / coffee and cake. The commentary was excellent and covered highlights of the history of this interesting area. Climb up to the top deck if you go, as the views are greatly enhanced with the extra height.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank SandLexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews