We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, this is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Like most things in life, you get what you pay for. This was a last minute decision where I booked this hotel because of price (NZ$155) for a one bedroom room. It was on the 19th floor with great views of downtown Auckland and the port. I literally on slept their. Bathroom was small, but adequate. There was a small kitchen area which I didn't use. The most important thing - the bed was comfortable and i slept well. Could the hotel be better, yes of course but then you would also pay a lot more. I think for the location (within 10 minutes walk to most downtown areas), the size and comfort of the room, this is good value for money. I can only comment on the one bedroom apartment. i have been told that the studios are small.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review - yes, our property is certainly great value for both the standard of hotel and location.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
There are newer reviews for The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Quadrant is in a nice area of Auckland close to the university and a steep but short walk downinto the centreof the city. The room is well-equipped, not particularly spacious, and with a small bathroom and the bonus of kitchen facilities. There was a small balcony, andif you turned to the left, you could catch a glimpse of harbour between tall buildings. But the mattress was not flat and not very comfortable for a hotel room of this standard. Tiny front desk with only a couple of staff on duty. The key card in the lift proved temperamental, and a long-term guest mentioned the same problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Rodger,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the property.

If you could please email me directly on udai@vrgroup.co.nz it would be most useful to identify the room you stayed in so we can have the bed changed and other guests will not have the same experience. Further, I have advised my Executive Housekeeper to have all beds checked regardless.

I look forward to welcoming you back and can assure you next time you will not have the same problems with bed.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had an excellent view from our room, but things were just lacking. We were not provided with hand towels, a safe wasn't in the room although it was on the list of items provided when booking the hotel and the shower base was cracked and bubbled and looks like it had been that way for a while. The bathroom was really small. The counter space was so minimal, it wouldn't hold a toiletry bag.

When we complained to a staff member, they apologize but also shared that this was one of the better rooms and that some rooms didn't have an airconditioner or any form of ventilation.

We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US2Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear US2Oz,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning to us on your next visit to Auckland.

I have taken the issues described with our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance team to have the problems identified rectified and checked through the building. I can assure you The Quadrant Hotel Auckland standards are far higher than you experienced.

Please contact me directly upon your next visit and I will be able to help in providing you the experience you paid for the first time.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is an apartment style hotel with basic kitchen equipment in each room. Rooms with washing machines are available upon request, useful if travelling for an extended period. Rooms are a reasonable size for a city location but the bathroom is small. 

The reception and check in is a shambles. Long queues, insufficient staff and inadequately trained staff.

Location is good, just a short walk from CBD and Sky Tower. 

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed staying at The Quadrant and the location we are in.

I appreciate your comments about the service levels at the Front Desk, I will take this up personally to see how we can be more efficient at check in time, check out time and customer inquiries.

Take care and safe travels back home.

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the Quadrant in a one bedrooom apartment for five nights ( I think I even got one free!) and the accommodation was excellent. Not the biggest one bed apartment I've stayed in but excellent facilities including a full size fridge with freezer, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, electric hob, pans, crockery, cups, glasses etc. I think the only thing it was missing was a toaster. Small shower room but pressure was excellent. Mini bar items including snacks/ soft drinks were provided and fairly priced. They came in handy when I booked a last minute, early morning departure excursion and couldn't be bothered walking to the shop for snacks. Room had good air-con, TV with movies available, work desk, dining table and a balcony which overlooked the harbour (if you stepped out onto it - not visable from the room). Location was brilliant - about five minutes to Queen Street though the roads that lead from Queen St to the hotel are a bit of a killer! Front desk staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again - would have quite happily stayed there for my whole two week holiday. There seemed to be a lot of international students staying as it is very close to a nearby university campus but I never heard them. Room was very quiet dispite staying over both a Friday and Saturday night. Loved it and it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: My room was on the 14th floor so had good views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellsee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.3 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,128 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $143 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing