We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great in every way”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Neiafu, Tonga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great in every way”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

self contained including a washing machine/drier and bath
unfortunately the houskeeping did not return a magnet wrist band
reception said they had not recieved an expensive parcel - and then it was returned to the sender a week later
stayed twice - very hard to get into though as it is well priced and located
upgraded to a 2 room the second time I was here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg.just
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    423
    272
    88
    91
See reviews for
321
426
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The 2 bedroom unit was great for what we needed.Linen and room were clean with the exception of really dirty scuff marks on the walls which make it look scruffy when it is not. Management would do well to get housekeeping to use a bit of Jif and remove these. Location is great close to everything in the city centre. The complimentary breakfast is very average and not appetising( we did not eat it after the first day) Guests would prefer a better quality juice, some additional fruit and a cereal pack/ toast and jam rather than the muffin and oat bar) . Staff were very helpful and while parking is available it is an additional cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Aparthotel in own town Auckland. Location almost just right - within walking distance of the CBD, but close to some fairly dodgy aspects - homeless hostel for example. Great value though, as well-appointed, generous sized rooms

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment in this hotel off the internet for our 7 night stay, however what was advertised was different to the studio room we were allocated- no separate bedroom Staff were unable to move us due to demand at the time and 4 attempts to speak with the manager were unsuccessful. Staff insisted that the room G003 had always been called a 1 bedroom as it had a balcony- we were unable to see how a small paved area made a studio a 1 bedroomed or 3 bedroomed apartment for that matter. Aside from not getting what we paid for, the free wifi didn't work either. But.. it's a very central location and facilities were good providing you got what you booked and paid for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Hi Richard, Max

Thank you for your review, I appreciate the time taken to write a feedback and hope you make it back to Auckland at some stage.

Please contact me on: udai@vrgroup.co.nz next time you are in Auckland and I will ensure you are looked after and you receive the stay you paid for the previous time.

Safe Travels

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked into the Auckland 3 months before visiting, for 3 people and asked for Gluten free continental breakfast. No one bothered to email back and say they don't do GF. Breakfast was bread rolls, butter, muesli bars, yoghurt, bananas and juice - weird combo! We paid extra for our parking/ most parking is one car directoy behind another. As we were leaving early, we parked in the rear of one of these parks, the front one beung vacant. We were phoned at 11 pm and asked to move our car forward, thus risking another car being parked behind us. Exactly this happened! The car behind us did not leave their keys at reception (we didnt realise this had to be done, and maybe they didnt either. We had to wait for a tow truck to come, and break into the car behind before towing it away. This made us late for our Sunday appointment, and left a totally bad impression of the hotel and its service. Even dumb things like a service person mopping the foyer at check out time (the busiest time), and needing your room key to get into the car park, meaning you couldnt check out, then go to your car - you had to leave the car park building and then check out. Lanugaue barriers also seemed to be a problem. I fail to see how such a ranking as 15 out of 100 best hotels in Auckland can be assigned. The rooms are tired (curtains with holes in, stained carpet, dirty grout in the bathrooms, slow lifts etc)... not a mecca for international travellers, and as Kiwis, we will not be returing any time soon

Room Tip: If you need to park a car - choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that the property did not live up to your expectations.

Please note that our complimentary light continental breakfast is very limited as it comes pre-organised without any options of change. It is a very simple but effective breakfast that our customers are more than satisfied with.

As per what is normal in central Auckland, car parking is of an absolute premium. We are lucky enough to have 50 car parks for a 100 rooms building. Unfortunately there are times when a car can be blocked - this is something we try to avoid with clear instructions at check in and voucher issued to guests.

Thank you for your comments about our Trip Advisor ranking, this has been generated with over 343 reviews from independent views on the Trip Advisor community.

Thank you for your feedback, safe travels back home.

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.5 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $123 - $325
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing