We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
215
152
20
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
215
152
20
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2018

The room was clean and spacious. The room was ready early. The staff were kind and welcoming. They watched our bags after checkout while we shopped and ate before our cruise. A nice area with good restaurants and nice shops.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KirkJ108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windbl0wn, Manager at Abaco On Jervois, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

Thank you for your review, Kirk. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

The hotel is in a good location lots of shops and restaurants nearby.The girls on reception are very helpfull.Rooms are a good size and very clean.Stayed for 3 nights,good value for money.The high floors even have a view over Auckland.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STUARTbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windbl0wn, Manager at Abaco On Jervois, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Hi Stuart, thank you so much for your review and we hope to welcome you again to Abaco on Jervois!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018

The apartment was in a great location, had good amenities, lots of outlets, free wifi and parking, nice back patio, but was a little dated. Posonby is a great area to chill and relax. We enjoyed exploring the area, finding good places to eat and drink.

There was a small refrigerator, half stove top and oven, microwave, and dishes, pots, pans and utensils for cooking. That said, the dishwasher was not working but daily service would clean dishes, Nice! The bathroom and shower were spacious.

Many food and drinking establishments are within walking distance. Right across the street is a cool wine and tapas bars with jazz music. Good view of the Auckland skyline.

Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank novacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windbl0wn, Manager at Abaco On Jervois, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Thank you for your review novacamp! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all that this popular area of Auckland has to offer! Hope you welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

I booked the Abaco for my first night in NZ, hoping to get a comfortable night’s sleep after a long flight. But it’s not the place for that. There are some good things here: the check-in was friendly and quick, and they let me check in a bit early, which was appreciated. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The WiFi signal is good and the bathroom OK. But everything feels like it’s been done on the cheap: the mattress, for instance, isn’t awful, but neither is it very comfortable. The curtains don’t quite reach to top of the window, so there’s a gap of light. And the soundproofing is nil, so I needed to use ear plugs. The room is clean but plain, and not much care or thought has been put into it. Considering comfort and location (in Ponsonby, not really very central) it would be OK for NZ$80 a night, but I paid NZ$160, (and there's no breakfast) and you can get much better than this for that price in Auckland.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windbl0wn, Manager at Abaco On Jervois, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Hi tnbms, thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry that you felt the room was plain and not up to the standard you were expecting. Our prices are in-line with Auckland accommodation, and we do offer many free inclusions that others do not (such as WiFi, parking and early check-in). There are many photos of our rooms online, so prospective guests can view what the decor is like and where we are located. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay, and hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 night, staff is very helpful and sincere.
Located within walking distance of Ponsonby street which offers many dining options that are not listed on TripAdvisor.
Those with big cars should be careful as the pavement is very tight squeeze.
Room is average sized, kettle and bathing amentities are provided. Not soundproof as we can hear neighbours walking past or talking in the corridor.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank the_gml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews