We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Abaco On Jervois! Great location, great rooms, great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved Abaco On Jervois! Great location, great rooms, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Book the Abaco! Stop looking through Trip Advisor and feel confident that you'll have a great stay!!

I stayed at the Abaco on Jervois with my boyfriend, mother, sister and brother-in-law. We were in New Zealand for a holiday and were in Christchurch when the Feb 22 Earthquake struck. Our family was scattered and Christchurch was a broken city with resources extremely limited, so we decided to all go to Auckland to reunite, shower and relax without the many aftershocks. Luckily we found the Abaco. The hosts were wonderful and extremely accommodating. They upgraged my sister and her husband to a corner suite (bigger room) which was appreciated as they were in NZ for their wedding which had to be cancelled.

The rooms are lovely and I'm very fussy. Ample space, nice bathroom, and a view of the Sky Tower (it was red for Christchurch while we were there) and of the harbour - very pretty scenery right outside the door. Also had a balcony out the back of the rooms were we could sit in the sun.

The area is great, public transport nearby and Ponsonby is a nice area to walk around - lots of shops and restaurants very close by.

My mother went back and stayed there, and I wanted to give her some flowers. Once again the hosts were extremely helpful and suggested local florist to contact.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicemac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    105
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
172
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Comfortable apartments. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location from which to appreciate the charms of Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

On arrival the manager couldnt be more friendly & helpful, the room was great, clean & tidy and she filled the spa pool up when asked & also topped it up again the next day, as we were there for 2nights. Room was well priced, quiet and had plenty of parking, was next door to BP garage & you could easily walk to the shops on ponsonby rd. The manager said they had only taken over a month ago and were still finding there way so im sure next time we stay there things will only be better. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavFriendsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2007

Lovely. A little more expensive than some of the other hotels we used in New Zealand, but probably worth it. Really nice room with lounge area and well equipped kitchenette. Well decorated with a modern bathroom. Our welcome was friendly and we were brought our choice of different teas and made to feel really welcome.

Pleasant walk into the city and right in Ponsonby. Well worth the extra.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel. We found the room well furnished and clean (including a dishwasher?), but on the whole, we thought the room was overpriced at more than $200/night. (Our tourbook was misleading -- it listed the rate at $75+ less.) The first night I didn't sleep at all -- the water pressure from the a/c made a loud popping noise. Since the desk closed at 9pm, we didn't know who to call about the problem. After discovering the issue in the morning, the next night we slept without an air conditioner and the noise went away. One highlight -- our host, Judith couldn't have been nicer. A couple of notes: the hotel looks like a cleaner version of a roadside strip motel in the US; breakfast is not included; ample, free parking is a plus.

  • Liked — Parking, location
  • Disliked — Price, air conditioner
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennybean74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.4 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
1.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $126 - $210
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing