We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #13 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Excellant location right in the centre of Mt Eden at the base of the Mt. Next to all the local ameneties you could want, restaurants, bars, banks etc etc.

All these though wouldn't be of any use without the excellance of the Lodge itself, personnally made friends for life there and found it very hard to leave, such was the set up of Oaklands. I went back to stay several times and cant see myself staying anywhere else if i was to go back to Auckland.

The rooms were spacious, warm and comfy, with a large kitchen and dining area which was just as good to socialise in as the tv room. Excellant grounds for lounging and having barbeques.

Overall i couldnt ask for anything else and give the 5/5 it deserves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfinspace23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    67
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
70
146
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The "Oaklands Lodge" is one of the best hostels I have ever been, especially in Auckland where you mainly just find places to STAY and not to LIVE. Mount Eden is not on Queen Street and there is no club in this town, but there are so many other reasons why you should give this Hostel a chance. If you look for a nice, cosy place with a burning heart, you should get here and be part of our family :)

I have lived here for 2 months and I cannot imagine to leave this place. It is the only hostel I know with a 8 dorm room like that. It is perfect to stay for a longer time, even if u have to work early and a cool house if you want to party at the weekends. The managers really give a lot to make us happy and puts an effort in so that you have a good stay, even if you only chill out a short time. Fabian

Room Tip: Numer "4" --> Big 8 Dorm room with SINGLE Beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Here is a really GREAT place!!! Interesting people, lots of books and a cozy reading corner, which is my favorite. The kitchen is quite big with lots of lockers and fridges. I like the shower here, powerful and clean, especially the upstairs’ female shower room. They have a small back yard, which is a good place to relax, meet people and probably smoke for smokers.

I had a good time here. Sometimes they organize some meals eating together or movie night, which is fun and give people opportunity to meet and talk each other. It's like a big home with a lot of young people. All in all, GREAT place to stay!!! Thanks for all of people I met there! Thanks Sarah for the great time~~~ Have fun!!! :)

Room Tip: I like the big dorm room, it's better than share room. personal idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Well kept, clean and pleasant. Superbly managed hostel in the quiet but busy small suburb of Mt Eden a short bus ride from downtown. Definitely visit here again :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBeardDuManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Had and still having a great time in Oaklands Lodge, great staff, very friendly. Brilliant location, close to the city and public transport. Would recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
0.9 km away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 118 in Auckland
375 reviews
3.4 km away
Ponsonby Backpackers
Ponsonby Backpackers
#5 of 118 in Auckland
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Attic Backpackers
Attic Backpackers
#4 of 118 in Auckland
586 reviews
2.6 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 118 in Auckland
315 reviews
2.7 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel

Property: Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Address: 5A Oaklands Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price range (per night): $26 - $77
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklands Lodge is small, friendly backpacker hostel located in the heart of Mt Eden Village. Mt Eden Village is a vibrant community with has a small supermarket, cafes, bars, restaurants as well as bakeries and specialty stores. We are 3.5 km from downtown with a bus stop less than 100m away. There is free parking available in the street. We have a range of single, double, twin and shared rooms with shared bathrooms, living area and a kitchen dining area. Laundry facilities are available at a charge and wifi is available for free. We are very close to the Airport Skybus route (Mt Eden Road Bus) for airport transport. The closest stop is Mt Eden Village. We pride ourselves on being clean, comfortable and friendly. Oaklands Lodge is family owned and operated. We look forward to welcoming you to Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing