We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for Amora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Disappointing for Amora”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is in a good location on a tree lined street. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Sky Tower. The staff were helpful and polite and the reception is compact but pleasant.

The rooms however are a bit tired. Surprisingly they had a stand alone A/C unit in the corner. These are so noisy you cannot use them over night. They all appear to have a small kitchen area. Maybe this explains the unpleasant smell each time you enter the room. The furniture was tired and the table had a broken leg. The bed was hard. This is not up to the usual standard of Amora.

The bathroom was also old and the shower screen was faulty and leaked.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to keep noise to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4T4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have been staying at the Amora (formerly the Duxton) regularly for the past 10 years both on business and personal travel. I hadn't been there in a while since I decided to try a few of the newer places in town for a bit of a change. My wife and I recently returned here for two nights over the weekend, and I am happy to say that it still is one of our favourite places to stay in Auckland. Large airy well-appointed rooms with plenty of natural light, decent baclonies with sliding doors and opening windows, huge king beds, good kitchen facilities and very secure car parking. The fittings and general overall feeling is of quality, unlike some of the newer budget apartment/hotels on offer. There are a now a lot of apartment style accommodations in Auckland, but they can be hit and miss both with the quality of the room and the level of service - check my other reviews for further information. With the Amora I have never had a bad room. Yes it's a bit away from the newly redeveloped waterfront area, but you can get there easily with a nice 15 minute walk or a short cab ride. And anyway I think the location is actually a positive; whichever side you are on you get either a park view or a nice leafy street view. We were both really happy with our stay and wondered why we'd been trying all these other places when the Amora is so good. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a park side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkpiegaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide a review of your experience at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We are pleased to hear that after 10 years our product still meets all of your needs and expectations. We think our location is unique and a great base to enjoy the best that Auckland has to offer, we are situated within walking distance of the cafe and shopping districts of Karangahape Rd, Ponsonby Rd and High Street and a leisurely stroll or short taxi ride from the Viaduct or Newmarket. Located on the Edge of Myers park! all of our rooms lead out on to a balcony where you can enjoy some spectacular city or park views and most importantly fresh air! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great hotel, very well located yet not on the too busy queen street , close enough and close to Ponsoby.
Disregard the bad reviews that scared me at first - I had two different rooms as I decided to stay another day - both perfect and the staff was very professional .
Yes get a room at the back - huge difference noise wise.

on a nice note, they gave me a pass to use the Ymca gym accross the road - as I found their gym too small.

I didnt have breakfast - as I could have my own breakfast just as I like it with the facility in the room.
I would stay there again if in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora. We are delighted to hear that we ticked all of your boxes and that your experience was pleasant and that your found our staff to be professional and the rooms to be up to your standard. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Okay place to stay. Reminds me of apartments for ex pats. All there to use. Walked in off the street and asked for a quote. Price quoted not inclusive of GST. Always leaves a bad taste when you checking out.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loza1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent Amora Experience, I was disappointed to read your review regarding your quote as all of our published rates include GST and it is hotel policy to quote including GST. Traditionally hotels quoted excluding GST for the corporate market, however the law states that unless stated otherwise all quoted prices include GST which is why we changed our policy. I can therefore completely understand where you are coming from and invite you to make contact with the hotel to rectify this issue via our website. We are glad to hear that the hotel met your expectations other than this small glitch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Concierge reserved a dinner for out group at Sky Tower and in fact was not in the sky tower but in a restaurant near Sky Tower so we missed a great experience. Two couples stayed at the hotel but only one couuple received upgrade....etc

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Amora experience we are disappointed to hear that you felt our service was poor because of a dinner booking gone wrong, I can understand the disappointment this would have caused to you and your group and of course we are very sorry for the misunderstanding. In regards to your booking, you booked and paid for a penthouse apartment so this was not an upgrade also there were no notes in your correspondance to advise us of your travel companions, however I can assure you that they would have received what they booked and paid for also. We appreciate your opinion and understand it's just that; but feel the rating you gave us based on the content of your review is unfair given half of it was not our doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.2 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
1.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $128 - $364
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing