We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Auckland City
Ranked #22 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Berkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We checked in to a 4 bed dorm for two nights. When we arrived we were advised we had been upgraded to a twin. Result!!

The room was small but clean. Showers on each floor.

The cooking facilities I thought were amazing, at least 8 4 ring burners the most I have seen in 10 months of travelling. Loads of pots and pans, cutlery and plates etc. 4 fridges and loads of seating to eat.

The hostel is about a 20 minute walk from the quay but its ok, and if you cant be bothered there is a 50c bus (the red one)

The hostel also did a deal on a taxi tot he airport for $35 so with two of us that was cheaper than two bus tickets for the airport bus and its faster!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sezl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    81
    78
    39
    16
See reviews for
9
59
107
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The toilet was not working for 2 days, had to share one in the next floor with another hundred of girls, and it was very dirty!
The internet was another chapter, so expensive and so slow! Don't get it! go to the nearest internet cafe and get it cheaper and faster.
The location was a joke two, in the op of a big hill, so if you have big bag, forget about to come by bus, u have to come by car to the door.
It was really disappointing because I've been in other YHA around Australia and it was so much better.

Room Tip: get another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we stayed for 2 days in a cheap double room which was fine and relatively quiet. we really had to do laundry and the first night we went down we saw 2 of the 3 washing machines were reserved for staff and the third has sheets and hostel stuff in it anyway. the second day the staff ones were still in use and the third was out of order. was a real pain. the sign said to walk to another hostel to do your laundry but we werent keen on taking almost all the clothes we had with us out in the rain to sit at another place for a couple of hours waiting for clothes to wash and dry. a small thing but really ticked me off. we came back to Auckland later on and made sure we stayed somewhere closer to the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The YHA city is pretty standard hostel fare for a city, reasonable sized kitchen, bedrooms/facilities okay.... but the beds are something else. We stayed in a twin room around the time of the rugby world cup Q finals, so the place was full. The bed mattresses are incredibly thin and the metal poles which make up the base of the bed make it uncomfy to even sit on, never mind lie down. If you twist into a contorted position where no bony prominences are in contact with metal, you may be ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. I spent the first night in a 2-share female bedroom - the guy at the reception offered me this possibility when I was trying to book a bed in a 4 female dorm. I thought would be a good idea; how far from the truth. The berdoom was very smelly (as the hostel overall) and although it was summer and we could leave the windows open, the street was too noisy and the rancid sweat smell was still strong. In the following night I changed to a single bedroom which was a bit better.

Both floors where I stayed at had only one shower and 2 toilets (not always clean). The hostel has an adequate kitchen but no common area apart from the dining room. No place to chill out and no atmosphere at all. The location is not too bad if you consider that it is close to the city centre but if you have luggage, beware: you will need to climb an extremely steep hill to get there.

I would not stay there again and if you are going to Auckland, stay at the YHA international which is waaaaaay better. This hostel do not deserve to have the YHA symbol.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 107 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
1.3 km away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Auckland City

Property: YHA Auckland City
Address: cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price range (per night): $34 - $100
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Auckland City is the ideal backpacker hostel to start or finish your New Zealand adventure. The hostel combines the excitement of the city with a safe and secure environment. Located at the top of Auckland’s Queen Street, this former hotel has backpacker accommodation comprising mainly twin and double rooms with some multi-share rooms and some of our rooms have views over Auckland city. There is a sun deck on the 3rd floor with a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing