We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Langham Hotel, Symonds Street, Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Langham Hotel, Symonds Street, Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Langham Hotel is a very good hotel by world standards. The friendly and excellent service we experienced was greatly appreciated. Although not in the centre of the shopping precinct it is not too far away and a Langham minibus takes guests to and from downtown throughout the day. The room we stayed in was more than adequate, although I would have appreciated better lighting. The main restaurant is top class. The breakfast selection is very good and service is friendly and very good. The interactive lunch is world class and the food excellent. In summary we enjoyed our stay and will have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgoldst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay and the service your received. Good to hear you enjoyed your meal at Eight. Our interactive kitchens are a firm favourite with guests - we believe it’s always nice to have your food cooked to order! We shall hope to welcome you again next time you are in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    1,049
    364
    96
    62
See reviews for
447
1,966
232
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have stayed here numerous time, the last time being Aug 2012 sorry for the late post..
This place is beautiful and such a lovely hotel to stay in.
The service is impeccable, very friendly staff all over the hotel and they really do make you feel welcome.
The first time I stayed we requested a smokinkg room, thinking there would be a balcony or something, but the whole floor is a smoking floor and you can just smoke in your room with the windows hardly being able to be open, I didn't really enjoy that but stayed there cause my fiance is a smoker. Luckily we didn't stay in the hotel much at that stay.
The beds are very big and comfortable, standard of the room is excellent.
I have also had 'Tiffin' The Langhams version of High Tea and it is one of the best high teas I have had, definately recommended.
Very easy to find from the motorway and it is very close walking distance to K Rd where there are lots of cafes and bars and also queen st. The hotel also had a shuttle service to the viaduct I think.
Wonderful hotel and also recommend to others.

Room Tip: choose a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aishal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a work conference and what a delight! From the doorman welcoming us young ladies to the bed turned down after a long day of corporate networking with a note on the next day's weather, I was wowed. No naïveté when it comes to customer service, but the Langham certainly was a class above your average stay. Cosy yet stately rooms, amazing beds and a buffet breakfast to die for. Seconds? Don't mind if I do! Now if only the normal travel budget extended to a regular visit...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoroandJuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your warm words, and we are pleased you enjoyed the luxury of our turndown service. We agree, it adds a special touch for our guests after a long day. Glad you enjoyed the tempting selection of breakfast treats at Eight - the chocolate fountain there is always popular! We shall hope to see you back in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

From the moment I arrived in the hotel the staff couldn't do enough to make my stay a wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable and the bed was superb. Dining in the restaurant was very pleasurable and the quality of the food and wines superb. Thank you for a wonderful experience. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We purchased the 5 star fling deal via Wotif which included a lovely room ( king bed was great ) a bottle of bubbly, free valet parking, a beautiful buffet breakfast for 2 and a 1 pm checkout. Excellent for our wedding anniversary.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Yes, the 5 Star Fling is one of our most popular packages, and a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary or special occasion. We have a range of special offers on our website under the ‘offers’ tab, so it’s always worth checking our online specials when you book (we have a best online rate guarantee as well). Happy Anniversary, and we shall hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $179 - $595
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing