We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a weekend stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a weekend stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a truly great hotel, from the moment we checked in and checked out received high level of service. The decor in the lobby and bar was amazing and the bed, OMG was so comfy. I also appreciated the attention to detail throughout the room, the only drawback being that the bathroom is smaller than what I would expect in a 5* hotel. I found the staff most accommodating and when it came to checking out they let us check out a few hours late due to feeling a little worse for wear after the night before - that was a life saver! :) I would definitely recommend for a flying visit to Auckland and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilChicken1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    1,052
    365
    97
    62
See reviews for
448
1,971
232
886
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel was fantastic, from the minute entered it blew me away. We went to the eight restuarant for the buffet dinner...incredible. Such a selection and all fresh amd made for you on the spot. Our rooms were fantastic and the welcome chocolates were beautifully displayed and very nice. The spa was incredoble such a variety of treatments and most aligned to chinese practises. Little bit pricey for treatments tho. Excellent gym facilities. Staff were so helpful and polite. There was a free shuttle to the city centre every half hr which was great. Club lounge area was spacious and well set out. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKayPinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a great hotel! Amazing staff, great rooms, but severely let down by asking me to pay $80 for Internet connectivity for a weekend, which is just insulting.
Considering most upmarket hotels will offer you either a reasonable price for Internet access or offer it as a complimentary service, the Langham seems to be stuck in the 90's when it comes to pricing. Even the duty manager wasn't willing to budge on the $80 charge for a weekend of WiFi access. Absolute rip-off!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback about our internet charges. We have been listening to our guests, and are currently reviewing our internet policy. Next month, we will be introducing a new policy that will bring us into line with free access trends around the world. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room, and had such a positive experience with our staff. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you stay in Auckland.
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The staff without exception were fantastic – from the moment we arrived to check in right the way through to the shuttle bus back and forth into town and departure. The hotel its self is beautiful and the bar area particularly so. My only suggestion is as regards the bathroom - we found it rather small. As an example there was only one hook to hang 2 bath robes and 2 bath towels. Thus there was no chance of anything drying out. The lack of hooks was in major part due to the fact there was simply no room to put a hook – it was that small. I’m of average height and build and I could not stretch my arms out fully in the bathroom (width wise).
That being said our experience at the hotel was a good one and we would recommend it to anyone staying in Auckland – as long as you can put up with what is a large broom cupboard for a bathroom…

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights recently and had the standard room...got a fantastic deal online but its a lovely hotel.Room was immaculate,bed was very comfortable..it really deserves its 5stars.
We didn't have any meals so can't comment on the food.
We found the staff to be very helpful.polite and eager to help without being fake
The hotel is good distance from the city centre but its all downhill on the way down and the hotel has a really good shuttle bus that goes down town about every 30minutes and goes well into the night.The drivers on the bus are really friendly and full of helpful information on things to do and see
Wonderful hotel...highly reccomend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.2 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $181 - $593
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing