We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a night.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My children shouted my wife and I a night at the Langham on our 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked through the door I thought "Wow this place is great". It was like walking into a palace. The staff were great we checked in with no fuss and they bought us the bottle of Champagne the kids had bought for us nice an cold. The room was great, classy but not overstated and the beds were extremely comfortable. Unfortunately I was recovering from a dislocated leg the day before and was still in some pain but the beds were comfortable and I was able to relax. Not feeling like going to the dining room, we ordered room service and it was great, the food was delicious. I watched some tv while my wife luxuriated in a bubble bath. The next morning we went down to breakfast and WOW. What a spread it was amazing how much food they had available for the guests to eat. I am a tour guide in Auckland and we pick up alot of clients from The Langham and they all rave about it as well. If you are to very comfortable surroundings and the better things in life The Langham is definitely the place for you to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,193
    956
    330
    83
    60
See reviews for
404
1,778
213
839
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Wow - the Chandeleir in the foyer is better in person - heated pool, large spa pool and his/her sauna and a herbal steam room, lovely complimentary toiletries. I would definately stay here again !!

Room Tip: a room with a view would have been the icing on the cake so ask for city/sea views if you can. Easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Fl. USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Upon visiting the Langham you would never believe that it ever was a Sheraton. The elegant detailing and the implied luxury and the beautiful guest rooms are what you would expect in a 5 star hotel and this hotel rates those stars.
We were immediately impressed upon our arrival by the bellman who read our names on our luggage tags and referred to us by name thereafter. I was impressed that our room was ready at 8:00 a.m., even though I requested early arrival my experience has been that the rooms are most often not ready..
We stayed in a "club" room on the Club Floor. I highly recommend the club rooms in that they are worth the extra cost. For example, free Wi-Fi, open bar with premium beverages from, as I recall 5 pm to 8:30 pm with wonderful canapés an other goodies in abundance. So much food that on several occasions we were too full to go to dinner. Also a wonderful breakfast is included, which can be had either at the Club or in the hotel's dining room. Did I mention a butler and some limited clothes pressing? But the comments above aren't the most outstanding attributes of the Langham...it is there staff!!!!

There was Jonathon, a native of Iowa, whose title had to be something like a guest ombudsman; who was everywhere all the time. He was there to show us our room, to greet us when we were registering, to assist me with my iphone wifi hookup. Always cheerful, caring and helpful.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention some of the wonderful Club staff: there was Andrew and also Raymundo, the Club butler, who was always professional and attentive.

Before our stay at the Langham, I must admit that I had never heard of the chain, but now I have and the Langham name has been placed at the top of my lodging preference list.

Room Tip: The "Club" rooms are a great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norskgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Langham is a true quality hotel with great staff (especially the concierge, the front of hotel staff and the shuttle bus driver). The quality of everything in the hotel was superb.

One drawback was that it is a bit of a step to the centre of Auckland (and uphill on the way back) - but then there is always the shuttle bus !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UndercoverGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

2 stays in March / April 2012. Very efficient pick-up from the airport. Check-in on the first stay was chaotic (we had reserved club rooms and I think that they wanted to check us in in the rooms but it didn't seem anyone had talked to the reception staff) - it worked better second time around.
Rooms were spacious but bathrooms are getting a bit dated. The pool and gym are very good.
Dinner at Barolo was not cheap but well cooked and fair value.
Breakfast in the Club lounge was good - fresh fruit and a limited cooked offering that was fine.
There appeared to be consistent difficulties with communication between departments over things such as check-out times and return airport transfers but issues were quickly resolved - it would be nice not to have to though.
Overall a good base for short stays in Auckland. Staff all very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: The Park Suites are good value if on a promotional rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
1.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $188 - $622
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing