We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aquatium”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 26.93*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This aquarium was really nice and lots to see. Loved the penguins! Kids had a ball here. Easy to get to also.

Thank Kel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Kelly Tarlton's, the penguins are often a highlight! We hope to see you and the kids back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 95 reviews
"moving walkway"
in 60 reviews
"shark bus"
in 54 reviews
"shark tank"
in 50 reviews
"underwater world"
in 48 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 67 reviews
"conveyor belt"
in 32 reviews
"king penguins"
in 29 reviews
"glass tunnel"
in 29 reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 28 reviews
"quay street"
in 28 reviews
"feeding times"
in 26 reviews
"rainy day"
in 77 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 26 reviews
"school holidays"
in 26 reviews
"mission bay"
in 31 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 40 reviews
Filter

78 - 82 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are in NZ for a couple of weeks and (as I had been several years ago) I suggested a trip to Kelly Tarltons.

Service at the entry desk was slow so we had to queue for a while, although there weren't that many people there. Then we got our tickets and had to queue for a photo that we didn't want. The photos are great if you want them but my husband and I didn't and we still had to queue for 10 minutes while others had their photos taken.

The penguins were amazing. We loved seeing the different types of penguins swimming about on one side, then waddling and standing on the other. There used to be a ride around the penguins though and I was disappointed that this had gone.

The tunnel was also great, watching the rays and sharks swim around you.

Unfortunately everything else was a bit dull and it was much smaller than I remember. We spent less than an hour there overall.

Probably great if you have kids, not really worth the price otherwise.

Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review - sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Kelly Tarlton's. If you do visit us again I would recommend staying for the presentations that occur almost hourly throughout the attraction. These add a lot more information and insight into the amazing creatures we have within the aquarium. We are glad however that you did enjoy the penguins and tunnel, these really are a highlight for a lot of our customers! We hope to see you again if you ever come back to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Providing you don't find the smell of penguins offensive there is nothing not to like.
The penguin enclosure is very impressive as is the walk through aquarium and tanks displaying smaller spcies.

Thank traveller175England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Kelly Tarlton's and hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great little place to visit and had a most enjoyable experience. My only complaint is that it was not much faster being in the express lane at all......people stood on both sides regardless and it could have been a bit better managed up front at the ticket office to advise people or direct into the correct lane rather than have a jam up front with crowd.

Thank Silentpartner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry that you did not have the best experience entering the attraction, we are currently working on ways that we can make the express lane quicker and more obvious to all guests. I will be sure to pass your feedback regarding this on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Took My 7 years old twins and their 10 year old sister for a birthday treat over Easter.
The boys first visit,they were soooo excited and enthralled with everything.
Was thrilled to find the boys were free as it was their birthday(well done KT) had a voucher for my granddaughter and senior price for me so was able to spend extra at the cafe where we were served by an amazing young Scotsman who was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The kids loved all the areas especially the Sharks & Penguins
We had a wonderful afternoon and would recommend KT

Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing