We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok but not amazing”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stamford in a superior room. The overall experience was average. We expected the place to be a five star but it is probably a four star at best.

Although the rooms are supposed to be refurbished they are still fairly dated with no real personality or personal touches. The colours are very bland. The bathroom was ok however not particularly clean. We also found it noisy - there seemed to be no sound proofing from the rooms next door and the people walking in the hallway outside.

We found the pool area nice however surprised after a bit of looking around there were no pool towels anyway to be found. Most guests seemed to wear their bathrobes from their bedrooms and walked back to the rooms soaking wet.

The breakfast choice was average again. The fruit selection was limited and espresso coffees not included in the buffet.

Overall the experience was at the Stamford was ok but nothing really stood out about the place. Most of the service was good however again lacking the personal touch. If you are looking for a bit more I would stay at the Langham or Pullman.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Noush,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do regret that your stay with us did not meet all of your expectations and your feedback has already been forwarded to our Department Heads so that we may improve on our products and service for our future guests.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you return, we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    724
    281
    103
    68
See reviews for
252
921
126
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed at the Stamford in Auckland before and like all the Stamford hotels in the Pacific region they have great all inclusive (and reasonable) packages.

Even in a Superior Room ( the lowest standard) there is plenty of room, the beds are comfy and it is dark and quiet at night. Great for a good night's sleep!

The breakfast is plentiful and varied. The only downside is on weekends they can find themselves short of staff but overall quite good.

The location is very good. Easy walking to the Viaduct with its array of restaurants and close to the shopping areas of the city.

The only major criticism is the cost of WiFi. $NZ9 per hour or $NZ29 per 24 hours.

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi FreqFly,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback about your most recent stay with us.

We're very pleased to hear that you had a good night's rest in our large, comfortable rooms and that you were able to enjoy buffet breakfast at our Knights on Albert restaurant the morning afterwards as well.

Just for your information, we do offer free Wifi in our Lobby, Knights Lobby Bar and Knights on Albert Restaurant, so perhaps the next time you stay with us, you may be able to enjoy a drink and some snacks while surfing the net and checking your emails.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I were treated to the Romance and Seduction package and upgraded to an Executive suite for a night. We were very impressed with the suite, the canapés on arrival were to die for, and the hotel staff some of the friendliest we've come across! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate returning for a relaxing and indulgent weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi EdwardsNZ,

Thank you so much for sharing your very positive feedback on your most recent stay with us!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Romance & Seduction experience with us and that the size of our Executive Suite really allowed you to stretch out and relax.

We are also very happy to hear that our team were able to create a fun and friendly atmosphere that further enhanced your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon to indulge in another special romantic getaway together!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I love staying at the Stamford Plaza in Auckland. This was my third trip in the last few months and it is always a great place to stay. It is in a great location, so close to everything.
The rooms are a good size with very comfortable beds, they are very sound proof so a great sleep had by all. I love the bathrooms, the seperate toilets are brilliant great feature. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant are wonderful. I will always stay at the Stamford Plaza it really is great value, it's just a great place to stay !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi MrsBolly,

We're thrilled to hear that you have been able to take the time to stay with us so many times over the last few months and that your experience with us has been outstanding each time you and your friends come to stay!

Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

spent wedding anniversary there. Staff were pleasant and the room was made up very nice.
Would go again for a special occassion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummydearest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hi mummydearest1,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary here with us last year!

It's around the same time of the year again now - we would love to host you and your partner again in our hotel to celebrate yet another wonderful wedding anniversary.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,302 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $169 - $648
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing