We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a great stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed in the hotel over the weekend recently, Friday and Saturday nights. It was OK, but overall not great.

In our first room on the Friday night the shower didn't work (it was either extremely hot or cold). When an engineer came up to check, he said there was nothing he could do. We tried to ring down to reception about a room swap, but despite trying 4 or 5 separate times, there was no answer.

Eventually we went down and informed them of the faulty shower, they were very good about swapping us into another room straight away.

On the Saturday night, I accidentally ordered a movie as the remote button flicked to BUY, instead of NEXT (there is no option to confirm). Trying to ring reception resulted in the same situation as the previous night, 4 or 5 different attempts with no answer meant I went down to reception to physically tell them of the erroneous purchase. They were again very good about removing that from the bill straight away.

The rooms are nice, a little dated but not that much, I certainly didn't have a problem with the quality. The bed was very comfortable.

I unfortunately left a nice shirt hanging in the wardrobe, and have been told that it can't be found. The person who cleaned the room swears it wasn't there. So either the wardrobe wasn't opened during cleaning and the shirt was taken by the next guest, or it was "lost" during cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caleamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hi Caleamon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are disappointed that your experience with us was not more positive. However, your comments have helped us to address the issues that you experienced and we are happy to inform you that we are taking a closer look at our procedures and staff to ensure that our hotel upholds the high customer service and product that we are well-known for.

In regards to the shirt that you had left behind when you checked out of our establishment, please be assured that we have recorded this with our Executive Housekeeper and her Housekeeping team. Thus, if your shirt is located, we would be more than happy to send it back to you.

If there is anything else that I can personally do for you at this point Caleamon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on cherylngoh@spak.stamford.com.au and I will be sure to look into any further comments or requests that you may have.

Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope that you will have a more positive experience with us next time.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    647
    257
    91
    58
See reviews for
220
826
115
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel around 40 times in the last 5 years. Pros its well located, its good value and it has a great breakfast buffet
The cons: the rooms are very tired and the hotel deparately needs updating if they are to maintain a 4 star rating

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hi Noelthemole,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel for the last five years. We truly appreciate your support and honest feedback.

We are very happy that you continue to enjoy our hotel's location and buffet breakfast at Knights on Albert.

You will be happy to know that we are currently rolling out soft refurbishments in all of our hotel rooms to ensure that our product and service continues to exceed our guest's exceptations.

We hope that the next time you stay with us, you will be able to experience our positive changes.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We flew into Auckland on the 2nd of January for the first leg of our honeymoon. After reading some of the experiences below about people being offered upgrades etc for 'events' I must say I'm a little disappointed that we weren't - indeed I would have been willing to pay a little extra but it wasn't offered at all on checkin.

Speaking of checkin this was the most negative experience of our stay - the person at reception (who I won't name) was rude, officious and condescending. Not only did he not offer an upgrade at all, we were kept waiting over 10 minutes while a tour group checked in ahead of us and this staff member did nothing for all that time. Also a small thing but at no point did he refer to me by name or do anything to make me feel welcome in the hotel.

Then he did not inform me why he was swiping my credit card and what the holding charges were - not that the charges are an issue but surely the amount should be told to the customer before the card is run? I know it sounds petty but this individuals manner was not welcoming at all and actually made my wife quite upset.

This was sad as the rest of the staff were fantastic - to the lady who kept the restaurant open for 10 minutes to enable my wife to try the desserts through the concierges who were informed and prepared for any of my questions. It's a shame that one person not making an effort can really harm a perception of the hotel.

The room was adequate - it is starting to look it's age and the bathroom in particular needs a bit of a refit. It was certainly comfortable however, although calling it 5 star might be a stretch. Certainly a solid 4 and a half star however.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Hi Blue_532,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

First of all, please let me offer my sincere apologies on behalf of the staff member who did not treat you and your new wife with the respect and welcoming, friendly manner that we at the Stamford Plaza Auckland, pride ourselves upon for every single one of our guests. Please be assured that hotel management are currently reviewing all of our check-in processes performed by our Reception staff as it is important to us that all of our guests have the best experience possible with us during their stay.

We are very pleased that our other staff members displayed the great customer service that we are proud to uphold and created a positive memorable experience for you and your wife.

Again, we really appreciate your comments as your encouragement will help us improve our service and product greatly.

We hope that you and your new wife will enjoy the rest of your honeymoon and that you will both return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays. Booked via wotif nz at a cost of $139.
Came back two day later and was given the exact same room!

Anyway, room lovely and clean - toiletries plentiful with slippers and dressing gown provided. Beds very comfortable.

Happy hour from 5 til 7, with an excellent steak bar nearby called Tonys which served amazing ribs.

Oriental food hall opposite the hotel was wow also.

Taxi to the Airport was arranged via the concierge at a very reasonable price of $35.

All in all a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi wiars,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your two most recent stays with us!

It is lovely to hear that you particularly enjoyed the room that you were lucky enough to have both times and were able to make use of our range of toiletries, bathrobes and slippers and had a comfortable relaxing sleep in our large beds.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us wiars. We are very encouraged by your positive comments about our hotel.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

A Completely different experience from staying at the Pullman- which was a non smokers nightmare.
I felt valued and comfortable here.
The staff were courteous and interested. Their service provided was excellent.
The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and there was no smell of smoke throughot the hotel in comparison with the Pullman

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinevere55255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi Guinevere55255115,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to feel comfortable and most of all, valued. We're very pleased that our team were able to provide you with our signature level of high customer service that we are so proud of.

It is most important to us that you were able to enjoy the smoke-free atmosphere of our hotel and that you felt relaxed in a clean environment to ensure a comfortable sleep away from home.

We hope that you will return to stay with us soon Guinevere55255115 and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $173 - $540
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing