We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend visit to the cotu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome friendly staff, fantastic hotel with great luxury rooms! Great value for money and close to sky tower, civic theatre and Queen Street shopping. We had the deluxe king suite, loved the bathroom, nice spacious room and the bed was amazing!! Not very often hotels have perfect beds AND pillows. Will definitely be back here to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Stephanie C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - the beds are amazing aren't they? Please contact me if you wished to purchase a brand new one.

Thanks again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay in the city!

Kind Regards,

Colette
Hotel Manager
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

For $400 a night, the 'harbour view' room I booked that had no harbour view was shocking. Granted, the room is beautiful, bathroom was great and bed was great. But for all the hype of a flash hotel, this surely wasn't. Staff at the front desk were rude, prices for breakfast and the mini bar were ridiculous, and the price is just ridiculous.

I'm not saying I didn't enjoy myself, but after 4 months of being so excited for a room with a gorgeous view, I was guttered to be starting at the roof of the sky city hotel opposite, and that's about it. Plus the windows were filthy so the view was rather impaired.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Callum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Callum B

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay and having located your booking, our Front Office Manager will be addressing your feedback, especially that related to our team immediately and my apologies to you.

I have noted that as the team were able to check you in early in the morning, the only Harbour View Room available at that time was on a lower floor. I am sorry that we did not have the opportunity to move you to a higher floor and I have updated your profile to show your preference for future stays.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

excellent location with brilliant views, good amenities, the room was very big and had a huge bed, with a very good bar. The bathroom was very impressive, I really liked the shower as it had huge water pressure, I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlewis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear johnlewis70

Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Grand Hotel - it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel is right where the action is in Auckland. In fact it is just opposite the Casino, with an added advantage of an internal bridge which takes you right there. Just across the Sky Tower. Rooms are clean and good with a comfy bed.
Breakfast is continental with a large portion of made to order items.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Salim B

Many thanks for your review. We are ideally located with so much to see and do right on our doorstep. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The bed and room was really nice and clean and was perfect for what i wanted. Even the bathroom had a shower and bath which we used. The TV was great to as it has plenty of channels to choose from. Overall the room was fantastic and the bed was nice and firm as I slept like a baby while there. Thank you

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor and had great views of Auckland city , perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barry173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear barry173

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us, I am pleased you were happy with your room. Our beds receive great reviews - did you know that it is possible to buy one direct from us?

If you would like any further information regarding our beds, please get in touch with me directly otherwise we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,975 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,437 reviews
0.9 km away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,014 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $229 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing