We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First stop in NZ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
York UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First stop in NZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We chose the Rendezvous based on Trip Advisor recommendations, and value for money. Car parking was convenient, the gym and pool were good, and the room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant served a good dinner menu, and breakfasts were of a good standard. Although we only had 2 nights there, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found it conveniently located for city walking tours.

Room Tip: Online deal including breakfast was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryUK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    1,725
    480
    151
    70
See reviews for
699
1,643
259
959
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for a few nights and although the room was ok the whole experience was let down by dreadful service esp when checking in. I arrived just before 4pm and not only did it take about 30 mins to check in - there was long queue full of frustrated people - my room wasn't ready! It was going to be at least an hour which I thought was unreasonable and frankly the service never got any better. Apparently I wasn't the only one waiting for the room to be ready. There are much better hotels in Auckland than this one and in much better areas. The area that the Rendezvous in in is good only because of its closeness to the Conference Centre otherwise it is an ordinary part of town. It was also frustrating to have ring down and get a new internet password every day - and I was supposed to hav breakfast included but believe me it wasn't worth tackling the disorganised scrum every morning in the ordinary restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed 2 or 3 nights at the Rendezvous!! It is a great and modern hotel. I'm civil engineer, so I know what I'm talking about! The service was good and the rooms were "insanely" spacious!! You could actually sleep comfortably at the bathroom, hehe, and I'm serious about it!! The hotel is at the center of Auckland and just some steps to Auckland tower! The night view from your "all glass window" is really beautiful. There are all types of restaurants near the hotel and you can enjoy some wild boat/bus tours from the nearby Marina to places like Wayheke island for wine and olive oil tasting. From what I heard there, this island is the only place where wine is produced in NZ.
I think the first impact on a customer is the front desk! Architecture, food, amenities, these come as compliments!! In this business industry, the management has to really focus on it's people, the employees, so they turn themselves into a customer-oriented institution!! The Reception Desk manager (or so) at the night we arrived was a very calm, delicate and gentile young Maori individual. If I knew his name I would write here in bold and capitals to commend his services because his welcoming paved the way and turned our journey into a very pleasant stay at Auckland. I should have written this at the hotel questionnaire but the sheet I found in my room was already filled and with a very tight schedule, I couldn't ask for a new one.......
So, I felt compelled to share my thoughts and I'm sure and giving an accurate picture of my experience and hopefully somebody finds it useful to complement their decision making process!! Because, despite the recent advances in information technology, traveling is still the pursue of the unknown and you never know what you get until you get it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We recently spent three nights at the rendezvous Auckland. The location iis central, and being away from Queen Street,the location is quiet. Service was efficient and breakfasts good..I would reccomenf this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uga, Spain
Level Contributor
493 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Rooms were very comfortable, Has everything you would need including free wifi. But the wifi is limited to a time period so had to go and get another token from reception when it ran out. Resturant breakfast was including in the room price - so all in all i was happy.

Limited channels on TV and it needs to be larger.

Location is not so good uphill walt to the main street - but the exercise isnt that bad. I noticed that they have an area out the front for smokers but dont provide them with chairs, that should be rectified.

Staff in the resturant are great.

Room Tip: Go to the main street and eat Japanese food at Tanukis cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.4 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $206 - $510
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing