We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression of New Zealand!”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great first impression of New Zealand!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband & I traveled more than 40+ hours to get to Auckland from Philadelphia. Fortunately, the front desk representative allowed us to check-in at 6:30am so that we could start to catch up on some sleep! He was incredibly friendly & accomodating - made us feel instantly at home & comfortable.

The room overlooked both the harbor & the Auckland skyline - made for great pictures! The room was spacious, modern & sleek, yet airy and appropriate for being on the water.

Personally, the breakfast was the most impressive aspect of my stay. Usually when I travel, I barely eat because gluten-free options are very rare. Here, gluten-free toast & cereal was available and delicious! Each morning, I was excited to head down to breakfast because I could eat "normally" alongside my husband and enjoy the sunrise coming over the harbor.

Thank you Hilton for making such a terrific impression! I would love to stay with you again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallchick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear tallchick1978,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to access your room early after your long flight to NZ.

I was also delighted to see that you were able to enjoy your breakfast each morning with the choices available that met your dietary needs. There is nothing better than sitting back and enjoying breakfast and our great view of the harbour.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    682
    229
    89
    37
See reviews for
260
1,134
160
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Modern well appointed room. The service was excellent service. Great location downtown and on the water. It is less than five minute walk to one of the busy downtown streets but you feel like you are in a quiet area because it's on an avenue on the docks. I stayed here for four days on business and would be happy to return again. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: One side of hotel has water views. The other side looks directly at building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleasantjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Pleasantjourneys,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your 4 day stay at the hotel and that our hospitality and location met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you back on future travels and thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed three nights at the Hilton in a de-luxe harbour view room. The views from our room were very good and we enjoyed sitting on our seventh floor balcony watching the busy harbour below us. The room itself was large with a comfortable king size bed, desk, office chair and easy chair. It is equipped with a fridge, tea and coffee making faciliites and an iron and ironing board. The bathroom is spacious with a bath and separate shower and plenty of space for toiletries.
Our travel agent must have mentioned that we were celebrating a special anniversary as a bottle of champagne and a decorated plate of hand made chocolates were in our room when we arrived, which we really appreciated.
Reception and bell staff were friendly and polite and Gustav, the concierge, was extremely helpful.
However the food was a let-down. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant but did have breakfast there as well as a room service meal.
Breakfast is buffet style with an egg/omlette station. The omlettes were very good but the buffett dishes of bacon were empty when we went to get some. I pointed this out to staff, who should surely have been monitoring the dishes in the first place. The bacon was not replenished until after we had finished our omlettes and several other guests were unhappy at not getting their breakfast bacon. The scrambled egg dish was also empty and at least three guests complained about this as well.This is not what I would expect from a Hilton property.
As for the room service meal - my husband was happy with his minute steak sandwich but my burger was bland and tasted as if the chef had never heard of the word seasoning.
All in all, we would stay at the Hilton again - the room was good and the hotel's location near the Viaduct ( lots of restaurants and pubs) and the ferry terminal is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Ayalax,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that we were able to recognise your special occasion and I am happy that in general the hotel met your expectations.

I am sorry that you encountered some short comings in regard to breakfast and room service and I have shared your feedback with those responsible.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hilton is right on the dock, if you want a harbor view you need to check the cruise ship schedule. If you get it wrong you will be staring out your window into a cruise ship window for your stay. It appears that it the hotel is geared more toward business clients than vacationers. The views are nice when there are no ships in. The service is good, the rooms are nice, parking can be a pain. Overall a very nice hotel but the cruiseship spoiled our stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeQ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear DeeQ_12,

Thanks you for posting your review of the hotel follwoing your stay with us. I appreciate you feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by a ship mooring outside the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Hotel location is great, but taxis don't go Ll the way. Should be easier accessible. But the largest problem is the 30 NZD per day for Internet connection (per device!!!). So I will spend 240 usd (iPhone and laptop) on my 5 days here - that is completely insane and not friendly for business travelers at all! Very disappointing for a hotel at this price! Also there is only on restaurant and they only serve sea food - come on! That's also a bit too little to offer!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederik_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Frederik_Ha,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that your taxi did not appear to have dropped you off at the hotel entrance, this is rather unusual as taxis normally are able to make their way up the wharf with no problem.

I have noted your feedback regarding internet. At the moment charging for internet is standard across most city hotels. Hilton Hhonors Gold and Diamond members do receive complimentary access as a benefit however.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
2.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $171 - $632
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing