We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton during a company organised event. The hotel is located at the end of the very long Princes Wharf so isa long walk back to Quay Street and the other attractions in Auckland. The view over the harbour is very pleasant and the hotel itself feels a lot like a boutique hotel because it is quite compact. Our room was a standard one but had all the features you would expect and was very comfortable and nice place to come back to after the days events and dinner. The only downside was the below par reception on the flat screen TV. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at the Fish Restaurant (see separate review) but had dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Parking at the hotel is expensive. The council's Downtown Car Park is cheaper overnight and on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear FPL10,

Thanks for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see you both enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It was great to see you enjoyed Breakfast at FISH, we think it is the best spot in Auckland for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. I have noted your feedback regarding the TV reception and apologise for any inconvenience.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    677
    227
    89
    37
See reviews for
257
1,113
158
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Newer, modern and spotlessly clean hotel with upscale appointments. Had a room with a harbour view - commodious, comfortable bed and chairs but lighting could be better - not suited to working. Very helpful and attentive staff, from front desk to housekeeping. Breakfast at FISH was outstanding but dinner was less than stellar. Food was poorly flavored and service was very slow. Interesting thing is that towards the end of the meal, they seemed to rush us out of the restaurant for the next seating when we would have been finished with dinner half an hour earlier if service had been more prompt.

Room Tip: Harbour view - rooms are larger and view is significantly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elguernica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear elguernica,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback.

I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in particular the service from the team and breakfast. I am sorry that your dinner experience did not meet with your expectations which I have taken on board.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and we look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A hotel over the water that is super quiet in a city where you can usually hear sirens at night? That's right, I did not hear one siren! The room is a good size, great shower, excellent bed.

Dinner is worth trying, with the seafood stew being fantastic.

Only negative was poor breakfast service, I think they were short staffed, just took too long waiting to request a pot of tea and then over 10 minutes to actually get the pot of tea - two mornings in a row, suggests this is an area that could do with a little more focus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiekiwi_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear aussiekiwi_boy,

Thanks for posting your review of the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and dinner at FISH. I was sorry to see that service at breakfast did not meet with your expectations and I have shared your sentiments with the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland, we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at the Hilton in Auckland for a few nights on a business trip. Lovely hotel on the water with great views from their Fish restaurant, enjoy your breakfast overlooking the water every morning. Beds were sooo comfortable so had wonderful restful sleep. Stayed in standard room, nice big bathroom, clean and quiet. Check in was quick and service was attentive.
Would stay here again, felt relaxed and rested at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear SylvMelbourne,

Thank you posting your review of the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.Breakfast at FISH is certainly enjoyable with the views over the harbour and it was also great to see you had a comfortable sleep in one of our new beds. All beds were replaced at the hotel last year.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and we hope to see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Out on the water, walking distance to the City and all it has to offer. There are some lovely restaurants down on the waterfront in Auckland's viaduct area, so this is a very handy location. Good value for money - what you would expect from a Hilton. Lovely breakfast was included in our room rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaniewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear beaniewellington,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you back on future travels and thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
1.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.0 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price range (per night): $239 - $948
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing