We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
193
562
383
125
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
562
383
125
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tower great location queen street victoria street within walking distance countdown supermarket convenience store new zealand noisy at night small kitchenette corner room the heart of the city buffet breakfast bw auckland microwave harbour
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

3-4 blocks up from the waterfront and ½ a block from where Skybus dropped us off at midnight this hotel was in a central location. While not super budget there are not many frills but it’s fine. Front desk is efficient and staffed 24 hours. You need to get buzzed into the lobby after midnight. Our room 101, was a bit funky being outside the elevator foyer at the head of the fire escape. It was dark with a view of the neighboring parking garage but clean with a very comfortable bed (with horrible hard pillows) and a well appointed kitchenette with a full size fridge. The closet was large, AC worked well and there was a lot of space to unpack which was nice as we had three nights there. Bathroom was teeny tiny but the shower was spacious. Toiletries were poor quality. Towel warmer was a pleasure although almost in your face as you sat on the toilet with about the same legroom as a coach airline seat! Maid service was great. Our friends up on the 7th floor had a much brighter room with a larger bath but smaller room and smaller kitchen. Overall it was a great for a base for our exploring and I would stay again without hesitation.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Joferer,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 64 9 303 1333.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The staff are friendly and helpful and the location was great. There's not much that could be done to make this hotel a place I would recommend to anyone. Other than the location being good, the room was dingy and felt dirty. It needs some serious upgrading, carpet replacement, new counter tops, air cond in the bedrooms and soundproofing at the very least. It was near impossible to get any rest due to the outside noise. The room is overpriced and with the amount of money being charged, there should be improvements going back into it.

Room tip: View of the sky tower are nice.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Schreiner1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Schreiner,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 64 9 303 1333.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Just stayed for a quick business trip.
Found the room to be very clean but it’s a 3 star aging hotel.
Very noisy. You can hear absolutely everything including the lifts up and down up and down.
The retrofitted attempt at double glazing with perspex, timber and silicone was poor - unless this is just to try stop people accessing the windows.....

Not on my return list for sure

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 782DaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dave

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 64 9 303 1333.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Whilst a very basic hotel in the middle of Auckland it was very busy and was more like a backpackers hotel. As it was our first hotel during a 6 week tour we wondered what our other hotels were going to be like. Room was large,clean with basic but functional furniture. Main problem was parking as it was very limited.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Duty Manager at President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Graham,

Thank you for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. We take your comments about your stay as important and are always working on improving our facilities to offer our guests a better experience. We are happy to read that you found the location quite convenient and good. We appreciate your comments for the size of the room and its cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The location was amazing, staff were great and the room was clean however the beds were TERRIBLY uncomfortable!! The room was dated, the brown net curtains are hideous! Very expensive for such a small, ugly, uncomfortable room!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Duty Manager at President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Hannah,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments for our staff and the cleanliness of the room, however we appologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are in the process of upgrading our facilities and we will ensure that your future experience would be better. Your satisfaction is important to us and will pass on your comments to the management to ensure we offer a better experience for our guest in the future. We look forward to giving our best service to you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews