We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 186
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 129
USD 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 105
USD 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
USD 193
USD 174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 130
USD 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 146
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 153
USD 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
USD 52
USD 41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
USD 146
USD 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveller rating
183
540
373
120
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
540
373
120
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towergreat locationqueen streetvictoria streetwithin walking distancecountdown supermarketconvenience storenew zealandsmall kitchenettecorner roominner citybuffet breakfastshort staybwaucklandmicrowavecbd
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The staff are friendly and helpful and the location was great. There's not much that could be done to make this hotel a place I would recommend to anyone. Other than the location being good, the room was dingy and felt dirty. It needs some serious upgrading, carpet replacement, new counter tops, air cond in the bedrooms and soundproofing at the very least. It was near impossible to get any rest due to the outside noise. The room is overpriced and with the amount of money being charged, there should be improvements going back into it.

Room Tip: View of the sky tower are nice.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Schreiner1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Schreiner,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 64 9 303 1333.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Just stayed for a quick business trip.
Found the room to be very clean but it’s a 3 star aging hotel.
Very noisy. You can hear absolutely everything including the lifts up and down up and down.
The retrofitted attempt at double glazing with perspex, timber and silicone was poor - unless this is just to try stop people accessing the windows.....

Not on my return list for sure

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dave

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 64 9 303 1333.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Whilst a very basic hotel in the middle of Auckland it was very busy and was more like a backpackers hotel. As it was our first hotel during a 6 week tour we wondered what our other hotels were going to be like. Room was large,clean with basic but functional furniture. Main problem was parking as it was very limited.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Duty Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Graham,

Thank you for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. We take your comments about your stay as important and are always working on improving our facilities to offer our guests a better experience. We are happy to read that you found the location quite convenient and good. We appreciate your comments for the size of the room and its cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The location was amazing, staff were great and the room was clean however the beds were TERRIBLY uncomfortable!! The room was dated, the brown net curtains are hideous! Very expensive for such a small, ugly, uncomfortable room!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Duty Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Hannah,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments for our staff and the cleanliness of the room, however we appologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are in the process of upgrading our facilities and we will ensure that your future experience would be better. Your satisfaction is important to us and will pass on your comments to the management to ensure we offer a better experience for our guest in the future. We look forward to giving our best service to you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beds comfy. The room was good value for money and I would definitely stay there again. WE booked through Elvoline - who didn't pass on our booking details, but luckily I checked direct with Best Western and they were able to book a similar room and gave us a free breakfast for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DKGrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPresident_Hotel, Duty Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for choosing Best Western President Hotel for your recent stay. We greatly appreciated your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We thank you for your positive comment about our staff, who always go an extra mile and try their up most to assist our guests with their requests wherever possible. Your positive comments will be pass on to all the department which will boost their confidence level and we looking forward to give our best service to you in near future.

Kind Regards
Ankil Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews