We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total paradise. We were spoilt by a wonderful and welcoming couple who made us feel at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mairenui Rural Retreat
Ranked #428 of 1,395 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Do not be discouraged by the 10 km drive, off the Highway 1 thinking that it will lead you to nowhere!!! Surprise, surprise!!! You will find yourself welcomed by a marvellous couple, David and Sue. We arrived there unexpectedly at 7pm and Sue prepared for us a hearty meal and gave us a very cosy bedroom and a fully equipped bathroom. The table was laid with fresh flowers, candlelit and the food was delicious. The conversation was also very interesting as they are people who travelled a lot. It is so peaceful and so relaxing. We woke up to a homemade breakfast by Sue which was a good start to our day. Then we were greeted by their adorable dog, Ebb who accompanied us to the horses...It was a marvellous experience touching those beautiful mares and their fowls. By the way, Emma, the sheep came along to greet us as well. This was one of the highlights of our holiday.We recommended it to whoever visits the North Island in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks a million Maria! It was a surprise for us too! We really enjoyed meeting you & discovering about your country. Travel safely!
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017

I spent two iChat's at Mairenui in January 2017. I was in the Manuatu to fish, and the guide recommended it. What a terrific find. David and Susan are gracious hosts on a wonderful property high up in the region. Sue's dinners feature homemade entrees and desserts, the latter featuring fruits grown in the garden. David offers lovely wines paired with the mains, and aperitifs on the porch in the early evening are a great chance to unwind, visit with other guests and enjoy the end of the day. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, with an en suite bathroom complete with a sunken tub and plenty of hot water, which I needed after a rugged day chasing trout. This is a gem of a property, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bzigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetSueNZ, Owner at Mairenui Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you so much for your super review! We did enjoy having you to stay and hope that maybe we'll see you again one day.
Best wishes,
Sue & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This was possibly the highlight of my holiday coming here, we only stayed one night and i didn't want to leave the next morning, the house has so much character and was warm and cosy, loved that it had a record player and some really cool records to listen to, What an awesome place to come and stay, i'll definately be back for a much longer visit next time. :)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile


People who prefer nature to busy cities will enjoy alot.
Plenty of outdoors activities even pétanque ...
Sue is a wonderful cook, she likes french food, good cheese etc ... and David always offers some good wine during dinner .
Just love The place ❗️❗️❗️
Sue And David are my friends since my First stay at Mairenui, 1997 I guess ... I came back three times, sent friends of me ...
Always a great stay ✨✨✨

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Was awe by the interior of the Villa upon checking in. Comes with around 4 rooms which can sleep up to 10 people easily.

I was drowned by the rustic and serenity of the 100 years old Villa and the surrounding. Despite isolated from the outside world, the villa is well equipped with kitchenette and heater. Throughout our stay, we didn't spot any insect despite being in the wild.

The house is decorated with some historical photos that depict the awesome age of this house.

Will definitely come back again during summary as there is no farm activities during winter season.

Oh yah Pls expect no mobile reception in that area.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
567.2 km away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#516 of 1,395 in North Island
18 reviews
531.7 km away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#7 of 214 in Northland Region
274 reviews
217.5 km away
No photo provided
The Homestead B&B
#207 of 277 in Waikato Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
184.8 km away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#7 of 44 in Taranaki Region
95 reviews
142.6 km away
Studio 404 Farmstay Bed And Breakfast
Studio 404 Farmstay Bed And Brea...
#16 of 51 in Taranaki Region
18 reviews
346.4 km away
Uenuku lodge
Uenuku lodge
#30 of 327 in Auckland
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mairenui Rural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mairenui Rural Retreat

Address: Ruahine Road | Rd 54, 4774, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 1,395 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mairenui Rural Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing