We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's own little corner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mairenui Rural Retreat
Ranked #427 of 1,397 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Reviewed 25 March 2015

I and two friends recently visited, it was my third visit and their first. I had tried to describe the lovely feeling of being at one with nature at this lovely tranquil spot. They are now aware of the special qualities of this place. We stayed each time in the Villa, a rustic, unpretentious time capsule. A glitzy five star stay, this is not. But if you are looking to repair your ragged sensibilities and appreciate the importance of quiet time to reflect, this is definitely the place. The evening dinner is very special with Sue serving up real food excellently prepared. The company is was interesting too. If I return which I probably will to NZ I wouldn't dream of passing it by.
Thank you David and Sue, another lovely experience.

Room Tip: Three choices of accommodation. I like the Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2015

We stayed just one night at the villa with our two young children aged 2 and 5. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here - the house is beautiful, interesting and it is lovely and different to stay somewhere so historic. It was amply stocked with linen and towels and the kitchen had everything you could need. There was even a box of toys for the kids, novels and magazines. But it was the outdoors we enjoyed the most - stunning views, a sprawling garden with an old slide and cubby house which kept the kids entertained for hours. And we went for a walk up the road to discover breathtaking views for miles. Kids adored the animals they met - horses, sheep and dogs. Sue and David were lovely, welcoming hosts who showed us the animals and treated us to a most gorgeous brekkie - homemade muesli, fresh berries from the garden, Greek yoghurt, warm croissants with homemade jam and strong coffee - better than any of the five star hotels we'd had breakfast at! Highly recommended for a relaxing stay that is homely, refreshing and fun,

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

May 2014 we, an elderly French couple, spent 2 nights at Sue and David 's homestead and we loved every minute of our time there. Acommodation itself was comfortable and charming; food was excellent - Sue is an expert cook and David makes sure to provide the right wines; but what makes it even more of a treasured memory is the warmth of their expert welcome. They introduced us to their family history and their area and shared with us their experience of travelling all over Europe. (and guess what: they even knew more than we do about our area in Provence!) David also took us rambling around the property as he had to gather his sheep and move them to a different piece of land. Definitely, a highlight of our fortnight in NZ .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mahe84300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A fantastic (and unique) experience with very gracious hosts. Fine dining with a strong continental theme - better than most restaurants and far more personal. Ideal for a short private holiday, or as in our case, a business retreat. I cannot recommend Mairenui highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a great time! See you again. Highly recommended. We stayed in the retreat but walked to the other places. All good. Dinner was most enjoyable. The retreat is the most interesting and unusual building. Most of all we were made very welcome

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
567.2 km away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#523 of 1,397 in North Island
18 reviews
531.7 km away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#7 of 214 in Northland Region
276 reviews
217.5 km away
No photo provided
The Homestead B&B
#207 of 277 in Waikato Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
184.8 km away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 44 in Taranaki Region
95 reviews
346.4 km away
Uenuku lodge
Uenuku lodge
#30 of 327 in Auckland
146 reviews
346.5 km away
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Auckland Harbour Oaks
#190 of 327 in Auckland
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mairenui Rural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mairenui Rural Retreat

Address: Ruahine Road | Rd 54, 4774, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 1,397 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mairenui Rural Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing