We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
47
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcoming hosts sue bedroom accommodation kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We stayed just one night at the villa with our two young children aged 2 and 5. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here - the house is beautiful, interesting and it is lovely and different to stay somewhere so historic. It was amply stocked with linen and towels and the kitchen had everything you could need. There was even a box of toys for the kids, novels and magazines. But it was the outdoors we enjoyed the most - stunning views, a sprawling garden with an old slide and cubby house which kept the kids entertained for hours. And we went for a walk up the road to discover breathtaking views for miles. Kids adored the animals they met - horses, sheep and dogs. Sue and David were lovely, welcoming hosts who showed us the animals and treated us to a most gorgeous brekkie - homemade muesli, fresh berries from the garden, Greek yoghurt, warm croissants with homemade jam and strong coffee - better than any of the five star hotels we'd had breakfast at! Highly recommended for a relaxing stay that is homely, refreshing and fun,

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

May 2014 we, an elderly French couple, spent 2 nights at Sue and David 's homestead and we loved every minute of our time there. Acommodation itself was comfortable and charming; food was excellent - Sue is an expert cook and David makes sure to provide the right wines; but what makes it even more of a treasured memory is the warmth of their expert welcome. They introduced us to their family history and their area and shared with us their experience of travelling all over Europe. (and guess what: they even knew more than we do about our area in Provence!) David also took us rambling around the property as he had to gather his sheep and move them to a different piece of land. Definitely, a highlight of our fortnight in NZ .

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mahe84300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A fantastic (and unique) experience with very gracious hosts. Fine dining with a strong continental theme - better than most restaurants and far more personal. Ideal for a short private holiday, or as in our case, a business retreat. I cannot recommend Mairenui highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a great time! See you again. Highly recommended. We stayed in the retreat but walked to the other places. All good. Dinner was most enjoyable. The retreat is the most interesting and unusual building. Most of all we were made very welcome

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Wonderful place to stay with excellent dinner - delicious food and wine - yummy breakfast, comfortable bed, and great company from the hosts David and Sue. 4wd tour of the farm was great fun! We came away feeling very spoilt.

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews