We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavoursome food”
Review of Long Chim Perth

Long Chim Perth
Ranked #25 of 3,550 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: AU$18 - AU$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: David Thompson’s casual, fun and accessible Thai street food restaurant, Long Chim opened its doors at the end of 2015. Bookings can be made for lunch and dinner and there is always availability for walk-ins. Located in the basement of the State Building on the corner of St George Terrace and Barrack Street, the 190-seat restaurant has a large open-plan kitchen, cocktail bar and a mix of intimate dining alcoves, communal style tables and counter seats. Long Chim means to ‘come and taste’. The restaurant’s fast service style combines with the sounds of clashing woks and the beating rhythm of the pestle as it hits the mortar. It’s a kind of music that leads you to laugh a little louder, stay a little longer and try something new each time. Drop in for lunch, a snack and drink, or stay for dinner and work your way through the menu, with a selection of Thai street food options including noodles, curries, stir-fries, deep-fried and grilled dishes. Signature dishes include crunchy school prawns with herbs, shallots and chilies; beef skewers with cumin, coriander and turmeric; or for something more substantial, sour orange curry of fish or minced beef with chillies, garlic, holy basil and fried egg. We also have our "maa long chim" menu, which means to come, sample and taste, and comprises of a selection of Long Chim’s best dishes, and is available lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Dinner for 5 people two of whom hadn't been to Long Chim before. We opted for the Maa Long Chim and weren't disappointed by the quality or quantity of food. We each got two of the starters - Miang Prawns, Chicken Satay and Fish cakes and two bowls of each of thee main dishes of flavoured fried fish, Siamese watercress, pork and pineapple curry and lamb ribs. the lamb ribs weren't as tender as expected but still flavoursome. The small portion of black sticky rice and coconut ice cream were sufficient to end the meal. Surprisingly for a family of meat eaters, the Watercress was a big hit for all with a variety of other dishes being the "next favourite'. Food service was quick but drinks service a little slow. Overall a very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

I would say it’s over priced and over rated!
The bottomless lunch is overpriced and not worth $99 each the food was too sweet with too much coconut and the wines were cheap and only one choice of beer! Overall I would not recommend the bottomless lunch.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Ozzykaz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024

Our fourth and last visit to Long Chim.
The service was terrible and the food disappointing. The dishes were overcooked and lacking the authentic Thai experience. Prawn pad thai consisted of 3 rotally overcooked prawns, a total lack of noodles and a huge pile of rubbery egg.
We shared our disappointment at the end of the meal and were offered complimentary dessert. We simply wanted to pay and leave and declined this, however we were not listened to and then waited an exacerbating 15 minutes for the bill whilst they put a candle in a tasteless cake for my mum's 75th birthday, this we left.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Appalling service. We were offered the worst table in the restaurant despite others being available, by a rather rude person.
We booked the bottomless lunch menu which on their website comprised 9 courses. We got 6.
On this bottomless lunch, I only wanted sparkling water, which wasn’t included on this menu. So not only were we charged extra for the sparkling water, we were also charged for the bottomless lunch drinks which I did not have! I could have had unlimited glasses of wine or beer but I don’t drink alcohol.
The rude person mentioned above over charged us for the drinks at the end of the meal and she was once again rude to my husband when he asked about the missing courses, implying he was a liar! What could have been a lovely meal was totally spoilt by this rudeness by one member of staff.

Date of visit: February 2024
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Long Chim continues to nail it apart from the fact that they were out of Singha beer. The Miang prawn starters were sublime and our waitress had the kitchen russle up some chicken satay even though they weren’t on the menu. The green curry of chicken was as good as we eat at the Blue Elephant in Phuket and the soft shell crab with curry powder, coconut paprika and lemongrass packed a punch…..Tip for a business lunch choose the table for 4 just inside the restaurant on the left - private and away from the “tourists”.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grahamsK1666BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Long Chim Perth also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Long Chim Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.