We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Chim Delivers”
Review of Long Chim Perth

Long Chim Perth
Ranked #26 of 1,538 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: AU$18 - AU$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: David Thompson’s casual, fun and accessible Thai street food restaurant, Long Chim opened its doors at the end of 2015. Bookings can be made for lunch and dinner and there is always availability for walk-ins. Located in the basement of the State Building on the corner of St George Terrace and Barrack Street, the 190-seat restaurant has a large open-plan kitchen, cocktail bar and a mix of intimate dining alcoves, communal style tables and counter seats. Long Chim means to ‘come and taste’. The restaurant’s fast service style combines with the sounds of clashing woks and the beating rhythm of the pestle as it hits the mortar. It’s a kind of music that leads you to laugh a little louder, stay a little longer and try something new each time. Drop in for lunch, a snack and drink, or stay for dinner and work your way through the menu, with a selection of Thai street food options including noodles, curries, stir-fries, deep-fried and grilled dishes. Signature dishes include crunchy school prawns with herbs, shallots and chilies; beef skewers with cumin, coriander and turmeric; or for something more substantial, sour orange curry of fish or minced beef with chillies, garlic, holy basil and fried egg. We also have our "maa long chim" menu, which means to come, sample and taste, and comprises of a selection of Long Chim’s best dishes, and is available lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Long Chim continues to nail it apart from the fact that they were out of Singha beer. The Miang prawn starters were sublime and our waitress had the kitchen russle up some chicken satay even though they weren’t on the menu. The green curry of chicken was as good as we eat at the Blue Elephant in Phuket and the soft shell crab with curry powder, coconut paprika and lemongrass packed a punch…..Tip for a business lunch choose the table for 4 just inside the restaurant on the left - private and away from the “tourists”.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grahamsK1666BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

Clean 3.5/5 -- amazing set-up place with soul concept just a bit lacking on the overall floor service. I am not just a first timer. Came here a lot since the opening day of that door. I could see it clearly, Southeast Asian with western touch. Well done. Now let's get the service better on that floor :) We need better game plan on your busy hours.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Luhputulusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023

We had a wonderful evening and were very touched at being given a glass of sparkling wine each to celebrate our anniversary. This was a lovely gesture. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Food was delicious and the service was really great too.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adventurer813885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent ambience. The best Phad Thai I ever had. Also had pork rice cake which was nice. The fried rice was alright.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank HemTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023 via mobile

Had to experience this restaurant and cocktail bar after being on the #OhheyWA walking tour and seeing this place.

Was a great experience with a large selection of drinks and cocktails.

Good menu very authentic :)

Lovely setting and well decorated.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank dolphinorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Long Chim Perth also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Long Chim Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.