We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Long Chim Perth

Long Chim Perth
Ranked #26 of 3,506 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: AU$18 - AU$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: David Thompson’s casual, fun and accessible Thai street food restaurant, Long Chim opened its doors at the end of 2015. Bookings can be made for lunch and dinner and there is always availability for walk-ins. Located in the basement of the State Building on the corner of St George Terrace and Barrack Street, the 190-seat restaurant has a large open-plan kitchen, cocktail bar and a mix of intimate dining alcoves, communal style tables and counter seats. Long Chim means to ‘come and taste’. The restaurant’s fast service style combines with the sounds of clashing woks and the beating rhythm of the pestle as it hits the mortar. It’s a kind of music that leads you to laugh a little louder, stay a little longer and try something new each time. Drop in for lunch, a snack and drink, or stay for dinner and work your way through the menu, with a selection of Thai street food options including noodles, curries, stir-fries, deep-fried and grilled dishes. Signature dishes include crunchy school prawns with herbs, shallots and chilies; beef skewers with cumin, coriander and turmeric; or for something more substantial, sour orange curry of fish or minced beef with chillies, garlic, holy basil and fried egg. We also have our "maa long chim" menu, which means to come, sample and taste, and comprises of a selection of Long Chim’s best dishes, and is available lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 17 March 2023

We love Thai food but we’re very disappointed in the food here, very spicy.
Also service was very slow. We had a table booked but had to wait 30mins before we were taken to the table.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2023

We had a selection of starters.
The chicken satay had a sweet chili sauce not a satay. The fish cakes were burnt and inedible. The lobster was quite tasty but mainly of the peanuts that should have been in the satay! The wine had no measure and was well below a decent glass.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

When we found this restaurant.. the main entrance is off Barret street between other restaurants.
We were pleasantly surprised to find this busy buzzy restaurant.
It’s in a basement with a beautiful outside courtyard & inside it’s dark & atmospheric.
Food is delicious a couple of really hot🥵 dishes but lots of others to choose from too.
Great evening good service fun.

Date of visit: February 2023
1  Thank LizR916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

The food was absolutely amazing and the staff equally so. Make sure you book as this place is really busy and deservedly so. Their duck and rice dish was the nicest Thai meal I have ever had.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2023

I met a friend from Sydney there at 7pmon a Wednesday. Was not overly busy. At 9pm the waiter came and dropped the bill on our table. I said we did not ask for the bill and he replied our 2 hours is over - we need to go. We only had mains and 1 drink and were given no option to order anything else. There were tables open and I didn't think there was actually anyone waiting for our table. I dont think I will be back after this. Was embarrassing.

Date of visit: November 2022
1  Thank anica848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Long Chim Perth also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Long Chim Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.