We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!!”
Review of Long Chim Perth

Long Chim Perth
Ranked #80 of 1,500 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: USD 14 - USD 23
Description: David Thompson’s casual, fun and accessible Thai street food restaurant, Long Chim opened its doors at the end of 2015. Bookings can be made for lunch and dinner and there is always availability for walk-ins. Located in the basement of the State Building on the corner of St George Terrace and Barrack Street, the 190-seat restaurant has a large open-plan kitchen, cocktail bar and a mix of intimate dining alcoves, communal style tables and counter seats. Long Chim means to ‘come and taste’. The restaurant’s fast service style combines with the sounds of clashing woks and the beating rhythm of the pestle as it hits the mortar. It’s a kind of music that leads you to laugh a little louder, stay a little longer and try something new each time. Drop in for lunch, a snack and drink, or stay for dinner and work your way through the menu, with a selection of Thai street food options including noodles, curries, stir-fries, deep-fried and grilled dishes. Signature dishes include crunchy school prawns with herbs, shallots and chilies; beef skewers with cumin, coriander and turmeric; or for something more substantial, sour orange curry of fish or minced beef with chillies, garlic, holy basil and fried egg. We also have our "maa long chim" menu, which means to come, sample and taste, and comprises of a selection of Long Chim’s best dishes, and is available lunch and dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: David Thompson’s casual, fun and accessible Thai street food restaurant, Long Chim opened its doors at the end of 2015. Bookings can be made for lunch and dinner and there is always availability for walk-ins. Located in the basement of the State Building on the corner of St George Terrace and Barrack Street, the 190-seat restaurant has a large open-plan kitchen, cocktail bar and a mix of intimate dining alcoves, communal style tables and counter seats. Long Chim means to ‘come and taste’. The restaurant’s fast service style combines with the sounds of clashing woks and the beating rhythm of the pestle as it hits the mortar. It’s a kind of music that leads you to laugh a little louder, stay a little longer and try something new each time. Drop in for lunch, a snack and drink, or stay for dinner and work your way through the menu, with a selection of Thai street food options including noodles, curries, stir-fries, deep-fried and grilled dishes. Signature dishes include crunchy school prawns with herbs, shallots and chilies; beef skewers with cumin, coriander and turmeric; or for something more substantial, sour orange curry of fish or minced beef with chillies, garlic, holy basil and fried egg. We also have our "maa long chim" menu, which means to come, sample and taste, and comprises of a selection of Long Chim’s best dishes, and is available lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Spicy. Authentic. Something a little different. Very dark decor, especially for lunch. I like it here!

Thank Daniellehcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr_Ploy, Manager at Long Chim Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Danielle. Yum!!! sums it all up. Big thank from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

If you like hot, and I mean really hot and tasty, Thai food, I dare you to try the Chicken Larb at Long Chim. Last time I wrote a negative review about Long Chim, mainly due to poor service. Been back a few times since and clearly it was a one off bad night. And frankly it was the Larb that drew me back. You get the warning from the service team that it is very, very hot, and apparently recently the hotness was even ramped up a notch at the request of owner David Thompson. Thankfully they give you you plenty of cabbage leaves, so it ends up kinda like San Chou bow with a massive chilli twist.
There are plenty of other good Thai dishes you can go on to. Today I added the Green Papaya salad, good for me but not the standout, knockout dish that the Larb is. Plenty of great drinks options to, I enjoyed the Eagle Bay Kolsch on this visit.
The music background was interesting with an eclectic mix of old and new. As an oldie I quite enjoyed it

Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr_Ploy, Manager at Long Chim Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Henry.
Thank you for taking the time to review. We always love a review that dare's others to try the Chicken Larb and as you say they are warned at time of ordering. We hope to see you in again some time soon for any larb fix...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Ordered 4 dishes, 2 were nice, 2 were really average. Beef skewers were chewy and taste was just ok. Red curry barramundi was gelatinous. Soft shell crab stirfry was nice. Cocktails were good but overall we paid $233 and it was nowhere near worth it.

1  Thank Tess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr_Ploy, Manager at Long Chim Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Tess.
Thanks for taking the time to review. Its never nice for a venue to hear such things but all honesty is taken on board to help us improve the experience for other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Found this place accidentally and was not disappointed at all. The food, the service, and atmosphere were incredible. All the dishes we tried were awesome, and I am definitely coming back next time i am in Perth!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lil_ruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr_Ploy, Manager at Long Chim Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Lil.
Sounds like to was an acciment(to happen)
Thanks for the kind words.
Look forward to seeing you when your in Perth next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I have tried thai food a few times and not enjoyed it so when we went for fathers day i was a little concerned but was very pleasantly suprised. The food was great even if though some was a little hot for my son and i but once we got over the original heat of some dishes the flavors were fantastic. Service was really good and we were even more suprised by the deserts suggested they were fantastic. I will be back as this is now my favorite restaurant in perth. I love thai food!

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr_Ploy, Manager at Long Chim Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Michael. Great to hear you love it all as much as we do. Look forward to seeing you in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Chim Perth also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Long Chim Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing