We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Swan Barracks
Ranked #36 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderfull relaxed atmosphere right in the middle of town. The wooden floor boards and domed roof give the place a wonderfully historic feel. It is an easy walk to everythung in the CBD. Very helpfull frindly staff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manger at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay and the historic charm!!
Thanks for the feedback great to hear positive reviews about our staff & yes we have a great location within the CBD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Nice big hostel but it was way too quiet therefore making it seem empty. Very basic kitchen and bathrooms.
The location however was great for walking into the city or staying around northbridge for a night out.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank HannahDarby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback we do have a great location to explore Perth city.
Our common area is a large area with different activities in there incl. pool & ping pong but I can understand how sometimes when its a quiet night in there it may seem empty....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I lived here for a month Jan 16' - Feb 16'. First place I came in Australia and I loved it. Its definitely a bog standard hostel. The staff were awesome and I think the common area was great to meet new people. The kitchen downstairs could definitely be modernised a lot and fix the hobs that were broken when I was there but the rooms were clean and there were lockers to store your valuables in. The atmosphere was great and I made some of my good friends who I'm still in touch with today there. I always stay here when I am back in the city as I feel so comfortable even the staff know you. Always recommend staying here to anyone coming to Perth.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Hcowenhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback its appreciated.
We are really working on our cleanliness & it's always great to here that our staff are doing an awesome job. Our common area / bar is a great space to make new friends.
I will pass on the kitchen feedback to maintenance so we can work at this issue.
Look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I was in between cities when I discovered the Old Swan Barracks hostel on Francis street, near the centre of Perth.

The backpackers is huge with a gigantic main hall, bar, cinema sized TV screens and comfortable couches.

The laundry is one of the best I've seen in a backpackers with large washing machines and cost effective dryers.

The outdoor areas are comfortable with plenty of spaces to eat or smoke.

The staff are kind and friendly. The best is done to accommodate guests and single rooms are granted if the hostel is quiet.

Northbridge is home to some of the most cost effective hostels in Perth. In my opinion Swan Barracks is one of the best.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you for your review Mary we really appreciate the positive feedback and love hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We too agree that we have a great common area and location within Perth.
Hopefully we will see you back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights there, what a great time spent. A very clean very large youth hostel with a very nice relaxing room as well as a bar.
Everything is very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Location is great as well,close to bars and restaurant.
So far obe of the best youth hostel we've been to!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank barista01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback its lovely to hear that we are one of the best hostels you have stayed at and you had such a great time!! We have been focusing on our cleanliness so it is great to see its been noticed.
If you are back in Perth again we look forward to seeing you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
157 reviews
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#17 of 56 in Perth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 56 in Perth
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Swan Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Swan Barracks

Address: 6 Francis St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: $21 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Swan Barracks 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Perth's most unique Backpacker Hostel. Situated in the heart of Perth in the Northbridge entertainment area and only several minutes away from the rail and bus terminals. Built in 1896 and a State Listed Heritage Building, The Old Swan Barracks offers quality accommodation and fantastic facilities at very affordable prices. Completely renovated in 2008, a stay at the Barracks provides the budget backpacker with the best that Perth has to offer, with a wide variety of accommodation from twelve bed dorms to private rooms. Rates from $25 per night include a free breakfast. The Barracks Bar, located in our Great Hall has nightly entertainment and offers a wide variety of Australian beers, wines, and beverages. Various activities each night include Wed. Pizza night, Thurs BBQ night, pool competitions and DJs. Book early to avoid disappointment. WINNER Best Hostel 2012 in Western Australia WINNER Best Backpacker Night in WA 2011 FINALIST Best Hostel in WA 2008, 09, 10 & 11 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Old Swan Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Swan Barracks Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing