We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience at The Rusty Fig”
Review of Rusty Fig

Rusty Fig
Ranked #3 of 3,508 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$25 - AU$52
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: Multi award winning fine dining, special occasion Restaurant. Awarded Australia's best fine dining restaurant by Tripadvisor.
Reviewed 31 May 2024 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a restaurant to celebrate her birthday in Perth and decided to try The Rusty Fig, which was ranked as the number three restaurant on Tripadvisor. Located just 10 minutes from our hotel, we thought we'd give it a shot despite it being nearly 7 PM on a Friday night.

We arrived a little after 7:45 PM, expecting a lively atmosphere typical of a top-rated restaurant on a Friday night. To our surprise, we walked into an empty space with staff cleaning tables and tidying up. We asked if they were open and were curtly told they were.

We sat at the bar and ordered cocktails, which were overly sweet and served in plastic glasses – quite unexpected for a restaurant of this supposed caliber. They didn't even have what we initially requested.

For our meal, we ordered the trout, which was terribly disappointing, and a selection of mousse starters that were equally unappetizing. The mousse looked like it had been sitting in the back of the fridge for days. The mushroom soup was okay, but it didn't make up for the overall poor quality of the food.

One upside was the music; they had a fantastic playlist that we really enjoyed, bringing back happy memories. However, the lack of atmosphere and inattentive service – we were never asked how our food was – made the dining experience quite underwhelming.

Overall, The Rusty Fig did not live up to its high ranking. We left disappointed and would not recommend it based on our experience.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank hiltoncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2024 via mobile

This year during my Perth business trip visited Rusty Fig again. I ordered dishes and when checked my last review , I found that I made the same dishes. Dinner started with appetisers. Firstly tomato with basil and ricotta gnocchi with truffle. Second was mushroom soup. Gnocchi in my taste was more delicious than tomato. Mushroom soup had very strong smell of mushroom and was super delicious. Chicken liver parfait this year was accompanied by fig chutney. All together with jelly is simply food of heaven. Only I would like a little bit less salt in parfait this time. Stake was tasty, but little bit more medium than rare. Soufflé was so delicious, that I have not enough words to describe it.
It melted in mouth and with ice cream was something extra great.
So in conclusion. The interior is still nice, atmosphere is still friendly. Service is still extremely professional and great. Food is still delicious. This is a quality which doesn’t change.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank danielgV5170QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2024

Really great dining experience. They sat us in a cosy corner as we requested upon booking, and our waitress appreciated that we mentioned we had to leave by a certain time to catch a show at RAC arena. As a result, the food came in a really timely manner and we made our show without having to rush.

Sometimes high end fine dining restaurants serve a really pretentious portion that doesn't reflect the price point and you leave still hungry or really broke.. this is not such an establishment. The portions were good, cooked perfectly, and tasted amazing.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Totally Underwhelming in my opinion - wont be back - from the pre dinner drinks (sticky dirty bar) - to then being seated at a table that would rock a baby to sleep, then to see the waitress try to put a paper napkin under the leg (fine dining restaurant at its best???) - we eventually asked to be moved , waitress spilling wine, not getting the correct steak as ordered and a response of a blank look - and a comment of you should have told me - which I did when she had finally come back to see how our meals were - definitely not the dining experience we we expecting for our 16th wedding anniversary.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

We booked a degustation and we’re looking forward to trying new tastes .
In reality , the restaurant was 95% empty which is never a great sign .
The appetiser was kingfish with cold green beans and broccoli ,
An amuse Bouche was next , but it was actually a very large plate of oily mushroom salad , soggy and greasy .
I ordered ( yes it was a set 3 courses after that )
Scallops and paid an extra $10 on top for that .
Bland watery with pea puree.
The steak was tepid, cooked perfectly though . Served with sliced cool boiled skins on potatoes that were described as fondant potato !!! Again with the pea puree, and a very tiny piece of cold onion .
Dessert was a pleasant soufflé that was a further $15 onto of the $105 we paid for this experience .
Nothing special , although the server sliced it in 2 , poured coulis in it and blobbed ice cream in too ..
Not a great selection of wines ( had to ask for menu which was covered in food !!)
Would not recommend food here ,
I definitely not a degustation experience !!!

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Rusty Fig also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rusty Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.