We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The coolest place we have EVER stayed!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chat with our cheeky chickens... Say hello to Pip while relaxing on the veranda.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Chat with our cheeky chickens...
Say hello to Pip while relaxing on the veranda.
Vintage leadlight adds sparkle to the front door.
Plenty of space for a country escape.
Enjoy the vintage brass bed in the private double bedroom.
See what's growing in the garden...
Meet Annabelle, our friendly dairy cow. She loves fruit...and flowers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perth, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melissa J
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The coolest place we have EVER stayed!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

LOVE the train carriage. Very spacious, decked out beautifully and very clean. We travelled with a 1 year old and found the space to be very safe and suitable for him to play.

Breakfast is a lovely touch- and very yummy! The owners are very helpful and friendly. I couldn't fault anything.

This is the best place we have stayed at in Perth, would highly recommend to anyone wanting a clean, beautiful and unique experience.

We look forward to our next visit! Thank you for having us :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique and memorable experience
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
It was lovely to host Mel & her family, and we truly appreciate her kind words as they are also accommodation hosts! The carriage is private & self-contained, but we hope that our guests will feel warmly welcomed in their temporary "home away from home". It's great fun to introduce our farm animals to visiting children, and we're delighted to share our little patch of greenery with folks from near & far away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitTheK...
Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just about to book to go back and found I hadn't written a review last time.
Very happy with our short stay. Clean, quaint, and very friendly. Big comfortable bed. Loved the breakfast. lots of space in the carriage - much better than a hotel room. Might need to bring your own internet USB dongle though as no internet connection, even outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big comfortable bed.
Liked least: Lack of internet, but that can be a good thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
We appreciate guests taking the time to share these kind words, even almost a year after they've stayed with us! We're so glad that the carriage provided such a lovely stay, and we have added a WiFi booster to provide reliable internet for all our visitors. Hope we see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOURKE284...
Bourke, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR THE ADVENTURESOME”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was seeking accommodation near Perth Airport enroute from Brisbane to Mauritius. Rusty Hollow came up as one of the closest to the airport. I did not tell my wife but kept it as a surprise. It was a choice between Rusty Hollow and a budget hotel for approx. the same price. The budget from experience is very tiny with rumbling almost cool airconditioning. My wife was very impressed with our stay, plenty of room to open our bags. We slept in one end in the double bed - very comfortable and warm. Our grand daughter in a single bed at the other end. In the morning we squeezed the farm grown oranges for breakfast - very sweet. Toasted the homebaked wholemeal bread and spread it with their home grown honey. A very enjoyable experience. Rusty Hollow is located in a developing industrial area approx. $25 by taxi from airport. We had no problem getting a taxi at midnight from the airport. I slept like a log. Warning it is near the airport - very quite for majority of night but planes do start about 6am. We would definitely stay there again. The owner is an artist, so staying here would definitely appeal to those with an artistic tilt, particularly fabricated metal etc. Does have a composting toilet which was no big deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing really - we expected an adventure
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
It was a delight to host two generations of the same family, en route to visit the generation in between. Our little farm is one of the last rural properties within a short distance of both domestic and international airports, offering a unique sliver of country life that is convenient for both travel and leisure. Our clever Eco-loo is clean, tidy, and terrifically water-wise. Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munsie-mu...
daglish perth
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Cosy Oasis for a great getaway!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Rusty Hollow is a wonderful place to stay, it a uniquely restored railway carriage and is only 4km's from Guildford near Perth in Western Australia. There are fresh eggs, home-baked bread provided by the very friendly owners. The owners have usefully supplied 2 bikes with helmets and locks.There a wonderful soft cosy double bed one end and 2 singles at the other end of the carriage. The feel is retro but with loads of wall socket for modern tech! The owner also support the environment in many ways and ask you do the same. They are situated next to a reserve you can wander in and it is only a short drive to the Swan Valley......I think it is a lovely spot and will definitely book again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel
Liked least: bit short on kitchen stuff ....bowl for mixing but made do no problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We'd love to host you again---thank you for your kind words! No bicycles at present, so car is the best transport option. Or perhaps NO car offers the best excuse to relax and enjoy the quiet? :o) There are some fantastic small coach tours of the nearby Swan Valley which depart from Guildford, if anyone is keen to try some of the amazing wineries while someone else does the driving. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinarySen...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A unique and brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Rusty Hollow is a truly uniquely wonderful place to stay, the beautifully restored railway carriage is located around 4km's outside of Guildford near Perth in Western Australia. The owners are delightfully friendly and provide fresh eggs, home-baked bread and even freshly roasted coffee beans for your stay. On arrival you are greeted with the sight of the carriage laid within a little track off the side of the road. The carriage decoration is really tastefully done, modern appliances coupled with a retro look. As the accommodation isn't within easy walking distance of the town centre the owners have usefully supplied 2 bikes with helmets, this also include a lock for when you park up - no lights though so make sure you are back by dark! The interior is really snug and comfortable, a soft cozy double bed one end and 2 singles at the other end of the carriage. Wall sockets everywhere and fly-screens on the drop windows (really nice touch). Its unique, comfortable and superb. I really recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole carriage was superb.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you again for staying with us---we're so glad that you enjoyed your visit! The bicycles are currently unavailable, so guests are advised to have their own car for getting about. (it takes 30 minutes to walk to the nearest village). Taxis are another option, and we're always happy to assist with directions via mobile phone if needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing