We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but slighter expensive for a backpacker hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Perth
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location but slighter expensive for a backpacker hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in october 2011.

Honestly, we never stayed at any backpackers hostel before. So we really don't know what to expect. But since cost of accomodation in Perth is indeed expensive (anywhere!).. We chosed the ensuite bedroom (not the dorm).

We arrived on early saturday morning. I almost asked the taxi driver to drive us back to the airport. Hehe. The scene that greet us was not pleasant. Drunken males and females walking nearby it's vicinity. Inside the sofa area, lots of beer cans and dirty and messy surrounding.

However, the receptionists were always helpful and friendly. And when we got into our ensite bedroom.. We're like i a world of our own. Definitely not Hilton, but it's clean and comfortable. So that's enough for us.

Location wise.. quite good.. Only 5 minutes walk to the junction whereby there's Taka Japanese Restaurant. Less than that to stop no. 7 of blue cat (juat behind the block).

Recommended for single or couples. But i woud not recommend any backpackers hostel to couples with young kids (better spend the extra money for more comfort of a hotel)

Room Tip: Defiitely choose the room with ensuite bathroom. However, i did went to the common bathroom while wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    98
    56
    22
    19
See reviews for
14
56
127
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Given some of the other hostels we had stayed in our trip I wasn't impressed with this place, especially given the price. The first impression wasn't that great from check in where the lady on reception wasn't the most accommodating or informative, for instance I wasn't made aware that we would need to hire crockery with a refundable deposit, or that we would need to source our own matches or lighter to use the hobs in the kitchen. We had a private double room which was ok but not as clean as I would hope. The communal kitchen wasn't the most spacious and it was a bit of hassle trying to cook anything during peak times. There were also a lot of rules and about various things, some seemed quite petty. All in all I wouldn't stay here or recommend it. The internet was also quite pricey especially given the fact that some hostels we stayed at managed to provide free internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hostel has great potential but is let down by guests and cleanliness.

I was in a 4 bed ensuite dorm. There was barely room for my bag thanks to the mess of one girl, whose clothes and hair appliances were scattered all over. I didn't even use the ensuite as it was such a tip, the shower was full of bottles of shampoos etc and the sink surrounded by various beauty products, some of which were spilt over the sink and floor. The manager really should be making sure rooms are relatively tidy for all people staying.

There were 4 massive lockers in the room, but despite only 2 beds being taken all the lockers were in use. I had to empty stuff out of one to use it.

The hostel felt like it needed a proper clean, all the door knobs were slimy and the door to my room looked particularly grubby, as already said the ensuite was pretty grim. It should also be noted that if drinks dispensers are under stairs where the tops can be seen it would make sense to wipe them off occasionally. Saying all that the shared bathroom facilities were fine.

I was relieved I was only staying 1 night and leaving early in the morning.

It might also be useful to have signs to the rooms as it's a bit of a maze and room 28 was next to room 10 rather than following on from 25, 26 and 27.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Living in WA and Australia for many years, each time when I come to Perth I stay here. It is one of the most cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in my life (and I travelled all around the world). Matrasses, bed linen ... all quite new ... no bed bugs here ! Also it is a very safe place to stay as the security is present in the evening and night as well. Thank goodness it is a quiet place and not a 'party' hostel. The staff and manager are always trying to accommodate you the best they can. Location is perfect ... walking distance from the shopping area. Keep up the good work !!

Room Tip: There are several options re: how many in a (dorm)room. Great benefit is that your bed is already ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I hate it when this happens. Mostly young australians are staying in this place. They smoke right under the non smoking sign, play soccer in the hallway, drink and party in the common parts of the hotel, and don't clean their own mess in the kitchen. It's a bit tiresome. The night curfew is enforced though, which is excellent.
The staff was not the most helpful.
The rooms were ok, but really overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#3 of 79 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 58 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#15 of 58 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price range (per night): $24 - $94
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing