We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only use as last option” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only use as last option”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I found the receptionist to be very unfriendly and unhelpful. The room itself (I booked a bed in a 4 share dorm) was alright, but the music coming from the recording/rehersing studio next door can be very irritating should you want to get to sleep at a reaonable hour. Make sure to ask back for your key deposit should you be leaving early the next morning as no one will be in reception to give you your deposit back (and you will not be made aware of this).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    98
    56
    22
    19
See reviews for
14
56
127
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had a great time here. I landed at perth airport a real mess- had lost luggage and was fighting with best friend because she hadnt booked accom like she had said. they were uber helpfull and let us check in straight away - they were amazing and friendly - i look back and think how grumpy i was but it didnt seem to bother them so fve stars for putting up with me. lol. Anyways they gave us a walking map and showed me the free bus things-called CAT- so we had stuff to do while qantas found our bag in cairns!! was a great stay.

Room Tip: they are all really diferent ask to see them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hostel should be great, but it just isn't! Booked a 4 bed dorm and was put in a 5 bed dorm, I mentioned it as i was checking in and just got a blank look, no mention of a discount or even an apology! Room was filthy, guys had been living in there for a while and there was stuff everywhere, bins overflowing and it smelt pretty bad, just a friendly nudge from the manager to the guys to clean it up a bit and a vacuum would have gone a long way! I did ask but nothing happened.
Bathrooms are modern but they clearly never get a good clean, hair in the drains and corner of showers, soap, wrappers etc in the stalls for days.
If this were a true budget hostel, none of the above would be a big deal but they market the place as a cut above the rest - the only difference from a budget place in my opinion is the price!
On the plus side the kitchen is pretty good, usually clean and very well equiped for a hostel, the common areas while stark are well kept and and the TV/DVD setup is good with heaps of books on the shelves.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a 4 bed dorm, room just isn't big enough for the extra person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night at the end of October, 2011. Very clean hostel and quite quiet while we were there. Ryan, one of the staff members, was extremely helpful with telling us about bus routes and giving us info about Perth. He made us feel very welcome. We paid a little more to get a room with a private bathroom. The room was very clean so was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and there was tea and coffee in the room which was a nice plus AND a TV. I've stayed in a few hostels around Australia and this one, although more expensive than what I've usually spent (about $50 per person for one night with the private bathroom) was well worth it. Easy to find from the train stop in Northbridge and in a good area of the city. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I'm not an experienced backpacker, so I'm not sure how this compares with others. I stayed one night during the 2011 CHOGM event when it's extremely busy in Perth. Room 9, a 4-share dorm. The other people didn't arrive so I had the room to myself.

Room 9 has a bathroom which was quite ok. The room is upstairs facing the front. There was not much noise, just occasional traffic from stirling road.

The bunks were clean and comfortable. Unfortunately blankets were not provided.

Location was great, close to the train stations, art gallery and library, and northbridge nightlife. Also directly behind the police special crimes headquarters, if that's of interest to you!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#3 of 79 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 58 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#14 of 58 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price range (per night): $23 - $94
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing