We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved, fresh and delicious ”

Canton Bay Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 1,667 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Perth
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We returned to have dim sum with fanily on the weekend after hearing some good feedback from friends.
Their menu were much improved and variety. All five kinds of buns and dumplings we had were fresh and delicious. The prawn rice paper rolls with baby green leaves topples were soft, smooth and delicious. Unlike many other places, their chilli oil was rich of spicy. The fry squids were nice, but would be nicer with less oilly coating flour mixtures. If you are fan of chicken feet, must try some to taste the differenes!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank lefthandbdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2015

One thing we had a problem with is trying to find parking. Restaurant didn't have their own parking. We had family members parking at Convention Centre and walking from there.

The restaurant itself has a very nice layout, where you could get privacy in groups, it's not all open plan. Decor is very nice.

Banquet is what the bride and groom chose which was $85 per head. So that started off with soup, then vegie dish, crab which I think was ordered separately but not sure, then there were about 6 other dishes, quite filling by the end of the night. I had ordered a bottle of white wine at $28 per bottle, price goes up from there. We had a children's table where you we just ordered fried rice, a noodle dish and sweet and sour pork, they were happy with that.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lulufluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We were staying at Sullivan's Hotel and didn't want to walk far to eat. Canton Bay was just along Mounts Bay Road. We can confirm other reviews that have noted the excellent food and stunning decor inside. The first page of the menu showed the chef's recommended dishes, from which we chose the stir-fried scallop entrée, which was delightful. The Szechuan soup and stir-fried cod with seasonal vegetables were other highlights for us.

Some staff were clearly learning the night we were there but all were pleasant and enthusiastic. As other reviewers have noted, patience is rewarded - this isn't fast food.

Parking in the area is difficult but the Mount Hospital carpark is open to the public.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2015

This was an excellent restaurant with really charming staff and delicious and interesting food. If you want to go on Sunday night worth booking.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank RossSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

This Chinese restaurant is staffed by 90% white Australians... They say white men can't jump, but can they serve chinese food? It turns out maybe they can. But you might need to give them some time. The lobster noodle is delicious and the tooth fish melts in your mouth - when they do it right. They just need more time... The first shot was over done but the second try was perfect. We were tempted to shoot for a third try! Overall the food is good and the location is awesome. So why not go yourself and taste and see whether white people can indeed serve Yellow food?!

tempted to go for a third try too. This restaurant is nestled in the midst of romantic Kings Park, at the bottom of fitness fan's Jacob's Ladder. Walk along scenic Mounts Bay road and soak in the surrounds.

Date of visit: November 2015
3  Thank LeGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Canton Bay Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Canton Bay Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.