We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like YMCA hostel - and that is being rude about them!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More like YMCA hostel - and that is being rude about them!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

DONT stay - unless you want noisy room. Towel rails falling off wall in bath room. Shower curtain near toilet than shower!!!!!

VERY VERY VERY basic - put me off Perth, gave me bad impression of central Perth.

STAFF however we very very helpful and could not be faulted - not their fault hotel falling down around their ears!!

Room Tip: Dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelseagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    161
    170
    53
    51
See reviews for
92
138
84
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Location is awesome being near the river as well as shopping malls & public transport.
Clean, no frills accommodation with a comfortable bed, though no view at all with the frosted window unfortunately. Reception staff were very helpful & friendly.
Only down side was not being able to organize a late check-out on a Sunday due to cleaning staff finishing early (fair enough though...who wants to work all day on a Sunday?!?)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, unfortunately the lift didnt work for first 4 nights! Try pulling up heavy suitcases 69 steps! Staff freindly and helpful, free internet , airconditioner in room o.k. but hallway and stairwell unairconditioned.The free glass of wine in restaurant nice, meal good and loved free bottle of wine! Fantastic location , next to shopping and sights. Dated decore but value for money.Bed was great ,pick a room at the back its quieter.I would stay again!

Room Tip: Pick level 3 at the back as rooms are noisier at the front.Dont open up windows (nailed close)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, NSW
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I didn't stay here so I can't comment on the rooms. However I did come here on a Saturday night at 8-30 for a meal. Ordered the risotto & a pepsi max. My friend with me ordered wedges. After 50 minutes of waiting for our order (the place was dead quiet) my friends wedges arrived. 15 minutes later I went to the counter and asked for my money back. Turns out the waiter who took my order accidentally threw my order out. Got a refund with apologies but wouldn't go back here for a meal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Even though I booked this hotel for the location and good rates, after travelling around NZ and Oz for 3mths I began to dread the thoughts of this hotel. How wrong I was. The staff couldn't have been more helpful including reception, waiting, and cleaning staff. Nothing seemed to be a problem and they were very generous with extra towels and toiletries. The lift worked, room 404 was more than we expected, recently refurbished to a very acceptable standard and the air con was not loud and we could leave it on while we slept, no problem. The hotel in general looked as if it had been very recently and tastefully painted throughout. The restaurant seafood compared with some finer restaurants in Sydney. The one and only difficulty I had was the very slow yet free Wifi. Do not be afraid to stay at the Criterion, we would certainly stay here if we ever travel Downunder again.

Room Tip: Room 404 on the top floor has a balcony and a view to the nearby magnificent Town Hall with it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annedayos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#54 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price range (per night): $67 - $153
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing