We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and overly priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Basic and overly priced”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Actually stayed in April 2010

Stayed for 10 days when we first moved to perth

- Totally over priced for what you get
- Rude and the most unhelpful staff i have ever encountered
- Food and alcohol was constantly being stolen from fridged if you didn't have a padlock, even though they had video cameras installed.
- In our 4 bed dorm, there was 5, when I complained staff didn't really care

Only plus was that the pool was nice and they allowed byo so the evenings were nice and chilled. It is also just a really short walk to Northbridge where all the bars and clubs are and also some yummy asian restaurants - all of this which the staff neglected to fill us in on, we just discovered ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    34
    23
    25
See reviews for
4
34
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here! Don't get me wrong the plac isn't the cleanist and it is a little out dated, but the environment is a very friendly and welcoming one! The staff are always there to help and always up for a chat/laugh! The room we stayed in was a family room which was massive and really worth having if you are planning on staying there for a while! The basic rooms are small, but no smaller than some of the other hostels I have stayed in! The location is excellent as its close enough to the city to walk into but further enough away to not feel all the city hussle and bussle! There is always a bus to take you to different locations from outside the hostel! There is also a Market shop and a brilliant Chinese take away which I would really recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a difficult review as I have spent the last 8 months travelling around the world where I have been in some fantastic hostels for a very reasonable price. I was prepared that when I came to Australia it was going to be expensive and it was. $30 for a 4 person dorm. The dorms were basic but with ensuite bathrooms. You get breakfast included in the price but other than that it's not cheap. Internet is exceptionally expensive, laundry highly priced and in the summer you don't get use of the pool so you have to ask.... what do you get for the money?

The reception staff weren't extremely accommodating and I overheard one make a snide remark behind my back as I walked away which angered me.

The location isn't brilliant for the cost, you can get a dorm room in the YHA for cheaper and it's closer to town and to Northbridge. Maybe it's because I've been spoilt in Asia with excellent accommodation and fantastic caring staff0, but I wasn't the biggest fan of this place.

It's OK for a couple of nights but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I had a great time at the billabong! We stayed for over two weeks, in this time we found the staff to be friendly and it was really easy to meet other travelers. Importantly the hostel was clean!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeveetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed here on and off for a total of 6 nights between tours in 4 bed dorm. It was ok I was busy and always up early so didn't need to meet people. It was a bit loud but thats why I always have earplugs in hostels! I did find the room was full of "left junk" that didn't belong to any of my room mates. Great free breakfast. Staff seemed friendly enough although sometimes there was a wait to be seen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 64 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 49 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Backpackers Resort

Property: Billabong Backpackers Resort
Address: Billabong Backpackers 381 Beaufort St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price range (per night): $20 - $68
Hotel Class:2 star — Billabong Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billabong Resort is the best in budget traveller accommodation in Perth. It's perfect for backpackers, families or anyone visiting Perth on holidays or business and looking for a budget option. The Billabong has just completed a major renovations and has two floors of brand new rooms that are the best in Perth. We have dorms, private rooms and even deluxe double rooms that are like a hotel room but at a fraction of the price! ***Just voted Best Backpackers in Western Australia 2015*** Some of the facilities available are private bathrooms in all rooms including dorms, Air-conditioning, swimming pool, female only dorms, free parking, free breakfast, laundry, tour desk, WIFI, internet cafe and many more. Located on the funky Beaufort St it's a short walk to cafes, restaurants, bars and the centre on the city. Billabong is the ultimate in traveler accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Billabong Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing